We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Visit The National WWII Museum like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$325*
and up
Ranked #1 of 466 things to do in New Orleans
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by historian and author, Stephen Ambrose, the Museum tells the story of the American Experience in the war that changed the world - why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today - so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn. Designated by Congress in 2003 as America's National WWII Museum, the campus includes the Louisiana Memorial Pavilion, showcasing the large artifacts of the war and exhibits on D-Day at Normandy, the Home Front and the Pacific; the Solomon Victory Theater, a 4D theater showing the exclusive Tom Hanks production, Beyond All Boundaries; the Stage Door Canteen, where the music and entertainment of the "Greatest Generation" comes to life; the John E. Kushner Restoration Pavilion, where staff and volunteers restore artifacts in public view; The American Sector restaurant and Soda Shop - delicious onsite dining options; and the new US Freedom Pavilion: The Boeing Center, where exhibits and interactive experiences paint the picture of a nation mobilized for war. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. All venues are closed Mardi Gras Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I am not really a military history buff, but this place was a great learning experience. The multimedia presentations were very informative. Plan to spend at least 3 hours to get the full experience. The Beyond Boundaries 4D is a must!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,820
    1,363
    310
    62
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing museum on WWII. If you are a history buff you will love this place. They have a bunch of great exhibits to see. The museum is very large and in multiple buildings. There are extras you have to pay to see such as the submarine experience and the 4D movie narrated by Tom Hanks. The museum is still under construction with more exhibits coming next year. I can't wait to come back when it is all finished and see the rest.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a perfect place for history buffs! Great exhibits. Oral histories, films, and interactive exhibits. But take advantage now while we still can of their best assets! This is the men and women of WWII who work or volunteer at the museum! If you ask they are more than happy to share their own stories and history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, La
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best designed museums I've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This museum takes advantage of modern design and the the mistakes other museums may have made by designing an experience that ALL ages will enjoy and learn from. As a teacher, I wanted to bring my 2 youngest sons here to experience history. Well, they not only learned a book's worth of facts about WWII, but they got to hear PERSONAL stories from some of our veteran heroes on their experience in the war. The small rooms set aside where one can sit and listen to a storyteller are truly brilliant because each person narrates a specific event and time in the war, and the stories are riveting and REAL. You won't want to miss the 4-D experience in the theatre either. All in all, we spent 5 and 1/2 hours there!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

DH and I are WW2 buffs and we made a special trip to Nola to see this museum. It was def interesting and the little movie-ettes in small rooms throughout the exhibit are a nice break from the endless walking and standing. Somehow I didnt enjoy this as much as the WW1 museum in Kansas City tho. It seems unfinished. Didnt really learn anything I havent already known but the survivor narratives are always great to hear. Lots of walking and standing!! Would be nice to have more benches for taking a break. Oh. Thats what the cafe and restaurant are for. Silly me!

One thing I would like to say: the place is small and baby strollers and small kids are really a nuisance! Get a sitter - they wont be interested in WW2 anyway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.