We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$325*
and up
Ranked #1 of 476 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by historian and author, Stephen Ambrose, the Museum tells the story of the American Experience in the war that changed the world - why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today - so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn. Designated by Congress in 2003 as America's National WWII Museum, the campus includes the Louisiana Memorial Pavilion, showcasing the large artifacts of the war and exhibits on D-Day at Normandy, the Home Front and the Pacific; the Solomon Victory Theater, a 4D theater showing the exclusive Tom Hanks production, Beyond All Boundaries; the Stage Door Canteen, where the music and entertainment of the "Greatest Generation" comes to life; the John E. Kushner Restoration Pavilion, where staff and volunteers restore artifacts in public view; The American Sector restaurant and Soda Shop - delicious onsite dining options; and the new US Freedom Pavilion: The Boeing Center, where exhibits and interactive experiences paint the picture of a nation mobilized for war. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. All venues are closed Mardi Gras Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“superb museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 4 1/2 hours in this museum, and did not see everything. There was the aviation section, one movie of about 45 minutes, and another submarine experience of about 15 minutes, and the main exhibit room. Absolutely superb museum, and not fully finished yet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,626
    1,488
    338
    69
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Volunteers need to be a little more friendlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

There for a school field trip with my son. Museum was very nice but the folks there could be a bit more friendlier. I found a couple of the older people not so friendly and that was a turn off. One lady at the desk was not helpful and seem to loose her patient. One cracky gentleman must not remember how he was at their school age. The museum itself was very nice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tribute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Watched my children, in awe, witness what their great grandpa talked about their entire young lives. He was their hero and to see them say... those are like grandpas dog tags...that's the gun grandpa carried in the jungle...and to see them tell other people in the museum their proud stories of his survival was beyond description. The movie was amazing and should not be missed as it tells those that don't have loved ones that experienced the war a feeling of what we should be thankful for.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Amazing museum...and its not even done yet. I am not that into military history so I was not expecting to have a good time, plus war bums me (and hopefully everyone) out. The Boeing exhibit was really interesting and if you do not know about WWII, you should watch the video because it gives a nice overview. The 4D gimmick was not that cheesy and it's not a 3d movie with effects (like where you have to wear glasses). Also, the 4th D are bubbles and wind--not water (which is soo annoying).
As you walk through the museum there is so much information and if you read everything it will take you hours to get through. This was totally worth the money--I have no idea why anyone would give this museum less than 5 stars. I would not say I am proud to be an american after a visit but I did learn a lot that I didn't know before, they have oral histories around the entire museum for kids or if you have more time, and tons of pictures and videos to watch. My husband loves military history and he learned about things he hadn't known. The models they have are awesome too. They have a great display with soldiers equipment and german and US guns.
There is NO comparable museum in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good rainy day activity!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I thought the museum was repetitive. First you see a film and then you go through the museum and see exactly what you saw in the film. Too much of the exhibit was spent on the European front.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.