We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volunteers need to be a little more friendlier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Volunteers need to be a little more friendlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

There for a school field trip with my son. Museum was very nice but the folks there could be a bit more friendlier. I found a couple of the older people not so friendly and that was a turn off. One lady at the desk was not helpful and seem to loose her patient. One cracky gentleman must not remember how he was at their school age. The museum itself was very nice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,293
    1,097
    237
    39
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tribute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Watched my children, in awe, witness what their great grandpa talked about their entire young lives. He was their hero and to see them say... those are like grandpas dog tags...that's the gun grandpa carried in the jungle...and to see them tell other people in the museum their proud stories of his survival was beyond description. The movie was amazing and should not be missed as it tells those that don't have loved ones that experienced the war a feeling of what we should be thankful for.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Amazing museum...and its not even done yet. I am not that into military history so I was not expecting to have a good time, plus war bums me (and hopefully everyone) out. The Boeing exhibit was really interesting and if you do not know about WWII, you should watch the video because it gives a nice overview. The 4D gimmick was not that cheesy and it's not a 3d movie with effects (like where you have to wear glasses). Also, the 4th D are bubbles and wind--not water (which is soo annoying).
As you walk through the museum there is so much information and if you read everything it will take you hours to get through. This was totally worth the money--I have no idea why anyone would give this museum less than 5 stars. I would not say I am proud to be an american after a visit but I did learn a lot that I didn't know before, they have oral histories around the entire museum for kids or if you have more time, and tons of pictures and videos to watch. My husband loves military history and he learned about things he hadn't known. The models they have are awesome too. They have a great display with soldiers equipment and german and US guns.
There is NO comparable museum in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good rainy day activity!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I thought the museum was repetitive. First you see a film and then you go through the museum and see exactly what you saw in the film. Too much of the exhibit was spent on the European front.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Keeping History Alive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The WWII Museum was a real treat. It was well thought out and presented with many tales told by participants in the war. Many photographs and personal effects brought a real sense of what people went through during those years. Field interviews and actual new footage of many of the campaigns also gave an understanding of the harsh realities of the time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.