We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with caring people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting with caring people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked everything about the Museum. There is nothing to dislike. It is informative and the people are anxious to assist in everyway possible. You will not regret going to see it and then you may continue on and see all of New Orleans something you cannot do elsewhere as readily

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,293
    1,097
    237
    39
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Roads
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is a National Treasure - Don't Miss It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Every American citizen, and those who aspire to become a US citizen, should visit this wonderful tribute to World War II. Don't miss the movie!!! As mentioned by others, the 30 minute movie is narrated by actor Tom Hanks. We were thrilled to witness many groups of young children being guided by volunteers and some teachers through the many exhibits. This is a 1st class museum, well worth the time and admission price.

We were fortunate to talk to several volunteers who are WW II veterans. There insight and first hand accounts was informative and interesting.

We noticed they are expanding the museum with a huge new building - Campaigns of Courage: EUROPEAN AND PACIFIC THEATERS. I look forward to a return visit to see the newest additions.

Take your family and visit the National World War II museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

So much history here-- it's truly an incredible experience. You can send letters back home; sit in the cockpit of a fighter jet... you learn so much; the experience was absolutely invaluable and I can't wait to go back!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No pictures!! didnt like it much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a fast trip to New Orleans, LA and first place was that museum. It was not that much, the main reason for visiting that was the high ranks in tripadvisor.com.

Unfortunately, it does not worth to be the first ranked in New Orleans


DON'T FORGET ""No Cameras inside""

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were in NOLA for pre-Mardi Gras Krewes and has an afternoon free. So glad my wife suggested we go to this museum. Very nice displays and fascinating history. Extra treat to have conversations with WWII vets

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.