We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

So much history here-- it's truly an incredible experience. You can send letters back home; sit in the cockpit of a fighter jet... you learn so much; the experience was absolutely invaluable and I can't wait to go back!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,272
    1,096
    236
    39
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No pictures!! didnt like it much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a fast trip to New Orleans, LA and first place was that museum. It was not that much, the main reason for visiting that was the high ranks in tripadvisor.com.

Unfortunately, it does not worth to be the first ranked in New Orleans


DON'T FORGET ""No Cameras inside""

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were in NOLA for pre-Mardi Gras Krewes and has an afternoon free. So glad my wife suggested we go to this museum. Very nice displays and fascinating history. Extra treat to have conversations with WWII vets

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a must see if you want to see all the different places and times Americans gave their lives for freedom. There was much more than i expected to see. The exibits and short movies were extremely informative. Like i said a must see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tells the story of the war in so many interesting ways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I visited the museum with my 7 year old son and I would recommend to all children of this age and older to attend. Firstly we saw the 4D movie, very enjoyable, nice visual effects, seats shaking, flashing lights, sound effects, a great way to tell the story of World War two. After this we walked over to the Boeing section which contains planes and you can climb four levels to get a great view of these. The main museum is great, I love the number of different ways to tell the story of the war, short movies, computer touch screens, exhibits. A really enjoyable time. There was also a small section on the NFL history which was equally fascinating

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.