We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The highlight of the museum is the extra cost 4-D film narrated by Tom Hanks in a theatre with shaking seats and all sorts of effects. The museum itself has a very thorough and extensive collection of all things WWII and it is probably the only site we visited that we felt was a must see. However, $27 for the museum and film is a bit much.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,640
    748
    159
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Needed more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When planning your visit plan to spend most of the day. There is lot to read and see. I also recommend the movie!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well worth the $21 per person. We were in there at least 3hrs and didn't read each and everything. I personally wouldn't want to take my young children though. Was very graphic about the war. Pics of dead bodies including women and children. Not something I would want my 6yr old seeing. But VERY informative and depressing at the same time. My husband and brother in law are/were in the military and they also thoroughly enjoyed it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent museum. The 4D movie Beyond All Boundaries is a must see. Be sure to have at least 3-4 hours. We stayed until closing -- our 12 year old son could have stayed hours longer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I wish the Museum would partition times...WAY TOO CROWDED!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The museum itself is great and they are adding 2 more buildings next year. I will have to return because there were way too many people allowed in at once. You could not move through halls, it was very hot, and you have to wait forever to read anything because of all the people. I highly recommend going first thing in the morning so you have a chance to see and read as much as you can. Not the place to go if you are claustrophobic...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.