We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the movie...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Bandera, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss the movie...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's extensive and involved; I have a short attention span - the movie, narrated by Tom Hanks and a host of actors, was VERY informative and interesting about WWII. Then you go see the exhibits you like without feeling like you missed anything if you skip along. For avid historians, its a must. For want to go but just a little - go see the movie and a few tanks. :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,261
    1,094
    235
    38
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Intaresing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The information on Hurricane Catarina and the exhibits from this was quite enlightening.

It was very handy that this was in the centre of New Orlines right beside our hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My son is in the PA National Guard and is deploying to Kuwait. We spent Thanksgiving in New Orleans with him before the unit left. He wanted to visit the museum so I tagged along. Beyond All Boundaries is a must see. It costs a few dollars more but it definitely worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“I'm usually positive, but its impossible here. This is NOT a museum, its an "exhibit", barely.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This may irk some of you because WW II is such a venerable, sacrosanct subject, that to say anything negative would seem like nothing short of a blasphemy. Yet, please remember, I am not writing a review of that horrific event, (probably the worst in human history), but of this so called "National WWII Museum", which, like many things in that largely misunderstood city, is, quite simply, a failure, or worse, a straight rip off. This goes hand in hand with voodoo shops (there was never any of that mumbo jumbo around until it was imported for the tourist trade - just ask any respectable and educated swamp tour guide, who's local heritage goes back generations) or Cajun cuisine -(the Cajuns never lived in the city - again, go and ask them; in Thibodaux, Houma, the Bayous; wherever, if you disagree).
Let me preface this review by saying I am a history buff, and human conflict - as in war - is what interests me the most. I will add that I went there with my 9 year old, who likes military hardware, and has seen some good WWII museums in Europe. I will only say that he was LIVID with disappointment when we left. So was I.
Lets begin with the building itself: its small, and it looks like there isn't much there, but there is a big one across the street, that looks like a part of the Museum complex. Surprise: there is nothing exhibited in it! It's a restaurant, designed to separate you from your $, and a theater, I think. The exhibits are all in the small building. There is a C-46 - a military version of a DC3 (something you can see in many regional airports); they said they have a Sherman tank, but it wasn't there at the time; (i know people who own them privately, but they don't call their shed a National Museum), there are some trucks and a couple of Higgins boats, (which the locals are proud of because those were built there during the War), and the rest, dear reader, is just a bunch of grainy pictures on the walls (you can find those yourself with 3 clicks of your mouse), plus some small artifacts, letters and some embarrassing stuff that looked like it was pilfered form the pockets of the vanquished. There is material on Normandy, and the Pacific War. Excuse me, but that particular War was in large percentage won - and lost - on battlefields east of Berlin. NOT A PEEP ABOUT THAT, or 40 or more million who perished there . So, perhaps it should be called the "National Exhibit of the Pacific/Normandy Theater?" Even as that, its rather poor, and certainly very incomplete. Now, you can drive yourself a couple of hours east and see a very well preserved WWII battleship in Mobile Bay, and there, on the shore - surprise! is a lot more WWII (plus other conflicts) hardware than you will find on 945 Magazine Street - but without undue fanfare, or a pompous, misleading name on it.
If you choose to visit this "Museum", and leave dispirited like i did, a visit to the "Alabama" Battleship Park might help ease the disappointment. You can stop by at Stennis Space center, see an Atlas V 1st stage at Michoud, or take a really cool swamp tour on the Pearl River along the way and make a day of it.
Now, those of you that are considering a written response to this review and want to give me some stick about it, plz, don't bother, as nothing will change my mind about the place. Also, I am not exactly a tourist: i lived in NOLA for about a year.. Finally, like the title says, I am usually very positive even if I am not exactly thrilled about the subject of my reviews, but WWII and it's history is visceral with me, and I simply hate to see this subject so shortchanged.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert,az
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable day at the museum. The D-day movie was very cool. Ask about the prior service discount it isn't listed but it saves about 40%

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.