We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 174 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Gilbert,az
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable day at the museum. The D-day movie was very cool. Ask about the prior service discount it isn't listed but it saves about 40%

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,810
    998
    206
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although partial under construction, this place is amazing and we had a chance to talk to a WWII Vet. The movies were very educational.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots of grainey pictures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Sorry, but if you watch Discovery or History Channel; you've seen most of whats here. Most of the galleries are full of large grainey photos, with recorded narratives. Not a lot of gear and/or artifacts. Lots of letters home, but old letters under glass don't make a museum. I'm 60, so I grew up learning this history; so it might be more interesting for younger folks who don't know the story.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very interesting and educational. The movie is sobering. Allow at least several hours. Really helps put all wars in perspective.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Gemstone in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is truly a great museum to have in our city. It is a museum that we can go to and never tire of. It is an honor to have this "history" in our midst.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.