We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best $30 spent in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Preservation Hall

Preservation Hall
726 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
+1 504-522-2841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 721 Attractions in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans' Preservation Hall was established in 1961 to honor one of America's truest art forms - Traditional New Orleans Jazz. Operating as a music venue, a touring band, and a non-profit organization, Preservation Hall continues its mission today as a cornerstone of New Orleans music and culture. Situated in the heart of the French Quarter on St. Peter Street, the Preservation Hall venue presents intimate, acoustic New Orleans Jazz concerts over 350 nights a year featuring ensembles from a current collective of 100+ local master practitioners. On any given night, audiences bear joyful witness to the evolution of this venerable and living tradition.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best $30 spent in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I agree with Maria E's review, slightly commercial (and very short set, I debated whether I should stay or not for the next!!!), yet wonderful window into the past and present of traditional jazz. I got a $30 (+$4 processing fee!) Big Shot ticket and was happy to have done so, as I got a seat and a cool badge to keep :). Don't spend $ on trinkets or souvenirs, get the souvenir of a lifetime by watching local performers play great music!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    331
    132
    40
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A total classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nothing to dislike- you just have to be prepared to be jammed in and maybe not get an actual seat. The music is fabulous, the atmosphere intoxicating!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So much expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visiting the Preservation Hall was a must whilst in NOLA and the queuing and resultant expectation possibly meant we could only be disappointed. The group were good, very good but perhaps it has become just a tad commercial and lacked the passion of many of the artists we had seen playing in the streets. That said, I would definitely not have liked to have missed the opportunity to experience it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great New Orleans Jazz show for $15 bucks or $10 if you are a student. The best jazz singers and musician play here. Get there at least 30 min before a show and line up. You pay at the door and there are no advance tickets. The shows start at 8:15, 9:15 and 10:15 pm. No drinks or food is served, no bathrooms but you can bring in drinks. No pictures are allowed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Whole Family Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived 1hr 15minutes early and were thankful to get the last row of backless wooden benches to sit on! Our kids (21, 17, 13) loved it as much as my wife and I did. The Hall has a very cool vibe and the musicians were awesome! It is certainly worth the wait. An absolute "must see" for any visitor to New Orleans!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Hall also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preservation Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.