We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral
615 Pere Antoine Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-525-9585
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 172 activities in New Orleans
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The major landmark of the French Quarter is the oldest continuously active cathedral in the U.S.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's one of the main attractions in New Orleans and definitely worth a visit. It's right in the middle of the French Quarter, across from Jackson Square, so it's easy to get to. The structure is magnificent and the paintings in the cathedral are beautiful. Definitely a must-see!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    384
    95
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I highly recommend if you visit New Orleans, take the time to visit the Cathedral - Basilica of Saint Louis King of France. I traveled to New Orleans Louisiana on business and had some leisure time for adventure. I pilgrimaged to the Cathedral - Basilica of Saint Louis King of France on a day where instead of lines of tourists, it seemed to be fairly calm and quiet. When I came upon the church, I was amazed at how large of a building it is, from pictures of it on postcards and/or a computer screen, I imagined it much smaller. It is a solid structure with good architectural bones. As I entered the church, I realized how beautiful each aspect of it was. I took the time to pray and was permitted to take photographs (some churches do not permit this). It was a comfort to go to the church and get to pray in it as opposed to seeing it in still life. Just a side note, as with most churches, there are optional places for you to make donations i.e. in the boxes for the poor, bread for the poor, lighting of candles, etc. if you choose to do this. I hope you find peace and comfort during your visit as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to the 11 a.m. Sunday mass. We felt transported to the heavens. The music was opera- and symphony-caliber, and it felt like a very prayerful place. I hope that our future visits include a Sunday morning so we can attend mass at St. Louis Cathedral again.

The interior is exquisite (be sure to check out the ceiling).

The bells ring on the hour, I think. They're beautiful.

Ironically, the little plaza in front of the cathedral was full of fortune-tellers and tarot card readers and everybody lived happily ever after. Only in New Orleans.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace among the revelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

St Louis Cathedral in New Orleans beautiful Jackson Square is an oasis of peace among the revelry. Obviously following proper protocol for this beautiful house of worship, one should be mindful of their voices and clothing. Soothing chants can be heard from the sound systems, the beautiful windows cast the interior of the entire building in soft light, the frescoes on the ceiling are gorgeous. What a lovely place to visit. Don't forget to stop in the excellent gift shop with wonderful religious themed items. Not to be missed and it never hurts to say a prayer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved seeing this beautiful old church. Make sure you check it out inside. Such beautiful architechture. Right in the heart of the city!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Louis Cathedral to your Saves list