We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break from the streets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral
615 Pere Antoine Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-525-9585
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #33 of 178 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The major landmark of the French Quarter is the oldest continuously active cathedral in the U.S.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Break from the streets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The church architecture, art work, and religious items are beautiful. Be sure to check times and know they don't always stick to them (closed 20 minutes early the day we were there).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,043
    396
    96
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful Landmark.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Definitely a must when in New Orleans. The cathedral is just beautiful. Even if you just go in for a quick look it will be worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Must-See Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Cathedral-Basilica of Saint Louis King of France, better known as the St. Louis Cathedral in the French Quarter of New Orleans is a graceful vision from the exterior, but best viewed from the inside.

Built in 1727, the church has been a center of worship for over 280 years, with mass celebrations still celebrated daily. Entering the building, you can feel the spirituality that has taken residence in every crevice of the stunning architecture.

We enjoyed our reverent pause inside the St. Louis Cathedral. A lovely respite from the hot summer and the perfect place to reflect on the blessings of your journey.

I suggest picking up a self-guided tour (brochure,) available for a $1 donation in the entrance area. This will truly enhance your understanding of the splendors and history withing the cathedral. A schedule of mass times may be found inside the cathedral and there is a nice gift shop adjacent to the foyer area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in the Cathedral in the late morning and checked at the small gift shop about tours. The clerk there said she thought the fellow would be in about 1:30, so we went on with our tour of the French Quarter and stopped back at 1:30. It was a few minutes before a fellow came walking up the aisle who didn't look like a tourist. He asked if we had any questions, so we asked about the tour. He said he would be happy to give us a tour. He asked if anyone else would care to join and a few did. As we went along he kept asking people if they would like to join and by the end we had a group of 15 or so. He was very well informed and gave us a lot of interesting information. The artwork in the building, especially the ceilings, is really lovely and makes you envision how difficult it would have been to paint it. While the tour was not long and certainly didn't cover all the items in the cathedral, it was worth taking the time to to it. Just walking in and looking around, you will not appreciate what is there and the stories that are part of the building's history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite architecture and breathtaking interior.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Do not miss an opportunity to see this when in New Orleans. One of the few attractions that does not disappoint.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.