We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the Cathedral Inside and Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral
615 Pere Antoine Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-525-9585
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$25*
and up
New Orleans Drunk History Tour
Ranked #3 of 300 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The major landmark of the French Quarter is the oldest continuously active cathedral in the U.S.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
754 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“See the Cathedral Inside and Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

On our first visit to New Orleans, we admired the structure of St. Louis Cathedral, but it never occurred to us to step inside. This time, we did both.

The cathedral is architecturally beautiful. With Jackson Square as its front lawn and the statue of President/General Andrew Jackson, the cathedral is one of the most photographed sights in New Orleans. Take the time to enjoy its beauty from several vantage points -- from the steps across Decatur Street, from the front gates of Jackson Square on Decatur Street, and from the busy Chartres Street in front of the cathedral with all of its artists, art vendors, and street performers.

As we stepped inside, we were awed by the beauty of the interior. Take a few moments to admire the soaring ceiling, the stained glass windows, and the statues, but remember to be respectful of those who have stepped inside for a quiet moment with God. I read on the cathedral website that a tour is available (except during mass), but I can't comment on the tour since we did not stay long enough to take advantage of the opportunity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great, peaceful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you need a quiet place to visit while in New Orleans this would be the place. Very serene. Beautiful inside as well. You can walk, pray, light candles, etc. A must do if in New Orleans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The St. Louis Cathedral is a beautiful cathedral and an icon of New Orleans. It is filled with New Orleans history and it was interesting to walk through. I am not personally Roman Catholic, but I enjoyed looking at the architecture and the stained glass windows representing the life of Saint Louis the King of France who was involved in the Crusades.
One of the employees/volunteers in the cathedral showed my children some of the tiles in the floor that had fossils in them. The children enjoyed that. Also when we walked in to the cathedral someone was play the pipe organ; it was beautiful.
If you visit New Orleans you need to make at least a brief visit to the Cathedral to enjoy the history and architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerCentralFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you like visiting old churches this one should not be missed! The stained-glass windows are beautiful as well as the paintings on the ceilings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TripSeekerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facade, Lackluster Interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The churches brilliant white facade highlights the exceptionally maintained Jackson Square. The church is beautiful around all four sides. However, the interior of the church appears to need some attention. Paint was pealing off the walls and columns and the transition from outside to inside was a bit shocking. If they took as good of care of the interior of this church as they do the exterior, this would be a sight to be seen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing