We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Mass
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

This hotel was adequate for what I was looking for. The price was right and there was ample space for 4 people. The full breakfast included in the price was satisfactory. Outside of the breakfast, this is a pretty no-frills establishment- no pool or room service, but that was fine with me.
The location is a little shady, but the French Quarter is just a block or 2 away.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    91
    73
    40
    37
See reviews for
44
101
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Check in is @ 3:00 but we were not able to get into our room until several hours later. When we arrived, the staff was not ready. The front desk manager and the owner lost all respect from us. The front desk manager even made a comment that was totally out of line. He said, "We get what we pay for". The owner sat in the lobby for the majority of the time and refused to admit that he was the owner but he would contact someone to assist us. The staff were still bringing in pillows, irons and ironing boards. They were still setting up rooms. We even found a bucket of paint in the hallway. We reserved a 3 room suite but ended up getting a suite with 3 full size beds. Honestly, it wasn't even a suite. It was a regular double bed room and a third bed was added to accomodate all of us. The hot and cold were mixed up on the shower so we were burned several times. There is no room service, bar or swimming pool on site.
The hotel parking lot across the street. It was $14 a day but we weren't able to park there because it was at capacity. The lot is small so we ended up parking in a garage located behind the hotel for half the price. I would not recommend this place to anyone unless they are looking for a place just to lay their head.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — False advertising
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awilkins, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2008
New Orleans has the privilege of hosting the Essence festival annually, this festival celebrates culture, education and includes some of the most exciting and talented performers from around the world. The Lexington Hotel O & Suites take pride in its ability to deliver and exceed all of our guest expectations; high demand generators such as the Essence Festival sometimes presents challenges that require a total commitment to resolve.

As the General Manager, I was intimately involved in the check-in process and was on hand to ensure all our guest needs were satisfied in an expedient manner. Our hotel is a 16 story facility, and the 16th floor is off-market to arrival and currently undergoing renovations. The pictures posted on this site clearly represent the on-going renovations and does not represent rooms that were made available for guest occupancy.

The Lexington Hotel O & Suites amenity list does not include room service, pools or food service; we carefully monitor our listing and descriptions to ensure their accuracy. The Hotel O owns and operates our parking facility and during high compression dates we partner with a secured, covered facility at a deeply discounted rate. This discounted parking rate is offered to our arriving guest as an amenity at a parking lot that is located adjacent to our facility.

Every comment received is a valuable tool in evaluating our performance both perceived and realized; we thank you for your opinion and welcome you to revisit our facility in the near future.

Sincerely,


Antonio Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YONKERS, NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

First of all the hotel is in a seedy part of town, second of all I was not given the price quoted to me on priceline. I guess the hotel manager saw fit to increase the nightly rate due to the Essence Festival that was in town and knowingly I could not choose another hotel to stay at. He proceeded to persuade me and tell me the price quoted was priceline's fault, which was not the case because I use priceline for all my vacation needs and they have yet to fail me.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

The thermostat was at 75 degrees when we checked into the hotel. We lowered it to 60 degrees and an hour later noticed no changes. Maintenance was sent to the room and the gentleman replaced the air filter, checked the thermostat and told us the room should cool off within an hour. We left for about 2 1/2 hours, only to return to the thermostat reading 76 degrees. There were no other rooms available so we were told nothing else could be done. I am not sure how the other rooms felt, but even the lobby was not cool. There was problems with the toilet, but maintenance changed a part and managed to get that working okay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — There are several maintenance issues that need to be addressed.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My party of 4 adults stayed at the Lexington O New Orleans on May 2-5, during Jazz Festival and had our expectations vastly exceeded by the good service, great location and reasonable prices. We arrived a few hours before the regular check-in time and the friendly front desk staff let us check in early and gave us an upgrade to a suite. The parking is available at a lot across the street and was reasonable ($14 per day), by New Orleans standards. There was also a table in the lobby that assisted us finding transportation to Jazz Fest and sold us tickets at cost, which saved us at least an hour of waiting on a huge line. Our room was on a corner that faced Canal Street and provided a great view of the Central Business District and the street car line. The room was well appointed with a fold-out couch, small kitchenette area and large bedroom. Although the building is older, it appeared to have been recently redone. It is set up similar to older European hotels. The bathroom was small, but had great water pressure and ample hot water.
The free continental breakfast provided cereals, bread, pastries and a waffle machine. The location was about six blocks from Bourbon Street and it was very easy to get to Jackson Square and Cafe Du Monde by the street car. I would be very eager to stay here again to have an inexpensive place to stay close to the French Quarter.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathroom size
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at the Lexington O & Suites April 19-23. The lobby was nice and clean, the front desk service was friendly but I got the impression that it was a very old facility in desperate need of attention. On one day the front desk was undergoing construction so the hammering could be felt throughout the hotel from early morning. On one day one of the two elevators was out of service - mind you neither of the two sounded safe going up or down!! Our room had a loose ring around the shower head which we believe was the entry way for two super large roaches that found their way into the room on two separate nights. (I am terrified of roaches!!). The room was extremely small and the furnishings very dark, including the curtains. If you don't plan to spend much time in the room it's a good place to stay at a reasonable rate. Location wise it's in good walking distance to many shops along Canal Street and the French Quarter. Not sure if I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — roaches, noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

The Lexington O Hotel and Suites is located on Canal Street a 10 minute walk from Bourbon Street and other attractions. My husband and I (mid 30s, late 20s) went for the French Quarter Festival April 10-14 of this year and can't wait to go back for the festivities. For the low price of $85 a night we were able to get a room close enough, but far away enough from the action. The hotel itself has a nice lobby, free continental breakfast and in room refrigerator. The service was very good at the front desk. They were very accomodating when we showed up hours in advance. The location of the hotel is my only hesitation when writing a review. It is a few blocks off of Bourbon and is right on the street car line. If you choose, however, to walk down Canal at night, be weary. There are projects just 2 blocks away and people loitering in the street for no reason at all hours. Other hotels in the area at the time were triple the price so the value was there, but the location is questionable. Also, just plan on walking around NOLA for your exercise as the gym is about the size of a closet! I would stay there again since we don't spend much time in our room. Happy travels!

  • Liked — The great value.
  • Disliked — Lack of Amenities, ok location.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.