We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those on a budget!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for those on a budget!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is located right outside the French Quarter (about 4 blocks away) there's no need to catch a cab (saves about $15). If you really don't want to walk, the trolley stops right in front of the hotel! ($3 day pass). They serve breakfast but I never tried it. The hotel is neat and clean but nothing fancy. For those who down most if the I time outside of the hotel like I do, this is perfect and more affordable than the other hotels in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    84
    67
    39
    31
See reviews for
38
95
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 day prior to a cruise, it was an ok hotel, but the area wasn't the best area i have seen, and a bit away from the main streets, thru some to me scary areas, room was good, clean towels, and it was clean, and free internet wich is nice, if i would stay here again, im not sure...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The location is maybe a 10 minute walk from all the main attractions but there's a street car right outside if you don't fancy the walk.

The room was a generous size and the beds were comfortable. Most importantly everything was clean and I'd happily stay there again next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

this hotel was very clean and the staff had excelllent services. the view from the room was very nice and the location from the french quarter made the hotel a great place to stay. I would reccommed this hotel to anyone who is going to New orleans in the near future.

Room Tip: get a room with the view of canal street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionla082, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to complete your survey.We are glad that we were able to meet all of your lodging needs. We hope that should you ever are here in New Orleans need lodging, that you remember the service that you received. Warm regards,
Tiffiany Jones , FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room we had was very nice. Clean; smart looking; but WOW! The bathroom sink was literally 10" in diameter! It was sufficient but sure looked strange. Hotel only a few short blocks from Bourbon street!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Checked in with Alina at the front desk. She was very helpful and pleasant. Even got us an early check in. Very good complimentary breakfast each day. Always waffles plus some days biscuits and gravy, another day eggs and bacon. Plus jucies, coffee, tea, fruit, dry cereals, pastries etc. Located on the Canal Street streetcar route so easy to get around. Room was quite small but clean and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival a few weeks ago. We booked this hotel earlier this year because it was the only hotel near the French Quarter with vacancies and was not terribly overpriced for the Jazz Fest weekend. These were our only reasons for picking this hotel because the other TripAdvisor reviews painted a pretty bleak picture.

Yes, it's as bad as they say. The room keys are crap; constantly having to go to the front desk from the 10th floor is incredibly annoying. Our room was awful: threadbare and ripped carpets, peeling wallpaper, stains, and on and on... The best thing about that room (1009) was the view.

Since we booked several days at this hotel, we asked the next morning for another room that was more recently renovated. I wish I could remember the name of the wonderful lady at the front desk who assisted us with our request because she was our saving grace and got us a room on the 16th floor that was much better. No drama with the room keys. This room (1609) looked to be more recently updated, there were some strange dark stains on the sheer window curtains. The fridge is clearly too big for its built-in cabinet. Even though the carpets were newer they looked cut too short in some places showing premature wear and tear. Overall this room was sufficient for the rest of our stay.

The corridors of the hotel are tile and need a very good scrubbing- sticky foot prints everywhere. The free breakfast is okay except for the numerous signs warning guests to not take food to their room. There was even an older man (I presume the owner??) sitting in a chair at the elevator playing hall monitor. Same older man badgered us asking if we were staying at the hotel as we were getting or coffee--- SO TACKY AND RUDE OF HIM!

The gym is pretty decent, no complaints. The elevators' decor are weird, at best.The area of the hotel isn't all that bad. Felt safe even walking back to the hotel at night, just walk with a purpose. We had no problems. There is the streetcar and buses to get around. It's a nice walk to the French Quarter and Armstrong Park. We learned our lesson to plan our trip much further in advance to avoid having to stay at the only place available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.