We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #117 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not nice neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed one night before our cruise. The tiny entry area to the hotel had 3 people loitering there. Not friendly. They would not move so we could drag our luggage through to the check in desk.

We walked to Bourbon street at about 5:00pm, still almost light out. It was very scary. Hindsight I would have taken the cab there. It was about a mile or so away. There are many people just standing around in the streets and street corners near this hotel.

The room was old an in need of an update. They have some crazy paint job in the elevator that makes it look old and worn down. Not sure what they were going for.

There was screaming and sirens all night long. Thankfully I missed some of it due to ear plugs.

I would Never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    98
    80
    40
    38
See reviews for
49
104
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is nice and central and within 10min walk to the French Quarter and Street car immediatly outside the door. Staff were friendly, especially the receptionist who was on duty when we arrived at 1am on Wednesday morning. Hotel was clean and comfortable but is starting to show it's age and needs a freshen up. Breakfast was a bit disappointing in that there were no yougut except on Saturday morning and only Buisuits and Gravey for hot food everyday which then changed again on Saturday. We were informed that the owner has set it up this way because it is quieter during the week. Haven't seen this at other Choice Hotels.

Room Tip: Roms need fresheed up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was attending a convention and this was the host hotel. It was an older hotel and I felt the price was a little high.
The staff was nice and helpful.
It had a free breakfast buffet and it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had booked and pre-paid a 4-night stay. On my second day, I asked at reception if I could extend for another night. The guy was clearly new and had no clue what he was doing. He quoted a price which I accepted, but then it turned out he had booked that same night, so I now had two rooms for one night! When he booked the right night, the price had suddenly more than doubled, so of course I immediately asked that he cancel the booking. At this point the general manager had stepped in, and he strangely would not tell me price for the night until he had confirmed the booking! Not sure what that was all about.

Coming home after a full day tour, wet from rain, cold, tired, and hungry, I opened the door to my room only to find that all my belongings had disappeared! I was livid. The receptionist was adamant that I should have checked out that day, and not until I shoved my printed confirmation under her nose did she relent. Not a word of apology, just bad attitude.

Although my luggage was in storage (clothes and toiletries shoved down my backpack, my comb was nowhere to be found I realised the next morning), they had also removed the food I had bought and placed in the fridge and cupboards and thrown it away!! Including some items I had brought from Mexico which could not be replaced.

The following day I had calmed down somewhat and spoke to the general manager. A very defensive and arrogant man. He could/would not explain what had gone wrong, still no hint of any apology, he just made me feel like I was the problem! He finally said he had "adjusted" one night, which meant nothing to me. Was it a refund? He would not tell me how much it would be, just said to look at my confirmation and figure it out. When I insisted to know the amount, he just told me the conversation was over and started talking to another guest.

I can only imagine they managed to cancel my existing booking when they cancelled the one that should never have been made. But they were so arrogant that I should leave the hotel halfway through my pre-paid stay! What hotel cannot keep track of their bookings??

I find the level of unprofessionalism astounding. Is this really how a large chain like Choice trains their managers to behave with customers??? A bit of humility, explanation and apologies can go a long way. I was certainly not at fault here.

Additionally, the wi-fi signal was extremely weak.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Loved Loved Loved this hotel. We were on the 14th fl with a room big enough to spread out luggage out on the floor and not be in the way. We were facing Canal St but the room was very quiet and there wasn't any problem at all with noise from either the street or the halls. The Canal St line stops right outside the hotel and the French Quarter is a Very Easy walk of about 3 blocks from the hotel. We drink only decaf coffee and asked the front desk for some extra after our first night there. During our entire stay of 6 days our room was stocked with extra decaf pack every day. The front desk staff was really friendly and very helpful with maps and places to eat. I will stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, 1 king size bed facing Canal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is fine. Very close to trolley/French Quarter/Bourbon Street. Like most of NOLA, it is old and dirty, but the rooms were large. You can hear every door slam all night long, lots of car alarms and sirens; breakfast was average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

i was by the zone trying to catch a cab. i enter to this hotel and asked with education the use of their bathroom, since I needed some help, and the manager refuses. A superior quality hotel helped me

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Inn
#123 of 155 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Central Business District
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#15 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#66 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans ...
#115 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#61 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.