We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Loved Loved Loved this hotel. We were on the 14th fl with a room big enough to spread out luggage out on the floor and not be in the way. We were facing Canal St but the room was very quiet and there wasn't any problem at all with noise from either the street or the halls. The Canal St line stops right outside the hotel and the French Quarter is a Very Easy walk of about 3 blocks from the hotel. We drink only decaf coffee and asked the front desk for some extra after our first night there. During our entire stay of 6 days our room was stocked with extra decaf pack every day. The front desk staff was really friendly and very helpful with maps and places to eat. I will stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, 1 king size bed facing Canal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    69
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
99
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is fine. Very close to trolley/French Quarter/Bourbon Street. Like most of NOLA, it is old and dirty, but the rooms were large. You can hear every door slam all night long, lots of car alarms and sirens; breakfast was average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

i was by the zone trying to catch a cab. i enter to this hotel and asked with education the use of their bathroom, since I needed some help, and the manager refuses. A superior quality hotel helped me

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location with streetcar stops close by to access various areas in NOLA. Checked in for 3 nights and enjoyed the entire stay; staff was friendly, goof amenities, and spacious, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a charming hotel and would stay again.
We needed a pet friendly hotel because we were traveling with another couple that had pets.
The hotel was pet friendly but the neighborhood was not. We had to walk a few blocks from the hotel to air the dog and did not feel comfortable walking late at night or early in the morning.
The hotel was in a great location, we walked everywhere.
Would definitely stay there again without pets

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is not far from Bourbon Street but we would not walk it late at night as there are a lot of guys standing around asking for money. The breakfast was as expected for a free one with the norm eggs etc. We noticed that only on the weekend they had eggs and sausage other days only waffles and bagels.
The rooms are very dated and need new furnishings.
There are hotels close to downtown at the same price.
The staff at breakfast very rude, could not or would not understand English
Rooms facing canel street very noisy even though we were on the 10th floor

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for an extended weekend. When booking, I was worried about the distance to the French Quarter but it was 3 short blocks away. We pretty much walked from the hotel everywhere - the French Quarter, the waterfront, the casino, the WWII museum. We used the bus to get to the garden district. We had a queen suite - bedroom with queen bed and tv and separate room with couch, desk and tv. There was also a kitchen area with fridge and microwave. There was no view to speak of but the room was quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Good breakfast but hot items (eggs, sausage) go fast and we did have trouble getting a table one morning it was so busy. Staff were friendly and quick. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniowilkins, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for staying with us. While there are many different choices to lodge we sure are happy you took the great opportunity to stay here. We were very pleased to provide you with the best service ever! When you return to the "Big Easy", you are more than welcome to stay here with us.

C.Minor
Front Office Manager
Clarion Inn & Suites
1300 Canal Street
504-299-9900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.