We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal St. Topfloor Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #109 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Canal St. Topfloor Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location with streetcar stops close by to access various areas in NOLA. Checked in for 3 nights and enjoyed the entire stay; staff was friendly, goof amenities, and spacious, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    62
    29
    27
See reviews for
30
81
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a charming hotel and would stay again.
We needed a pet friendly hotel because we were traveling with another couple that had pets.
The hotel was pet friendly but the neighborhood was not. We had to walk a few blocks from the hotel to air the dog and did not feel comfortable walking late at night or early in the morning.
The hotel was in a great location, we walked everywhere.
Would definitely stay there again without pets

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is not far from Bourbon Street but we would not walk it late at night as there are a lot of guys standing around asking for money. The breakfast was as expected for a free one with the norm eggs etc. We noticed that only on the weekend they had eggs and sausage other days only waffles and bagels.
The rooms are very dated and need new furnishings.
There are hotels close to downtown at the same price.
The staff at breakfast very rude, could not or would not understand English
Rooms facing canel street very noisy even though we were on the 10th floor

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for an extended weekend. When booking, I was worried about the distance to the French Quarter but it was 3 short blocks away. We pretty much walked from the hotel everywhere - the French Quarter, the waterfront, the casino, the WWII museum. We used the bus to get to the garden district. We had a queen suite - bedroom with queen bed and tv and separate room with couch, desk and tv. There was also a kitchen area with fridge and microwave. There was no view to speak of but the room was quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Good breakfast but hot items (eggs, sausage) go fast and we did have trouble getting a table one morning it was so busy. Staff were friendly and quick. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniowilkins, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for staying with us. While there are many different choices to lodge we sure are happy you took the great opportunity to stay here. We were very pleased to provide you with the best service ever! When you return to the "Big Easy", you are more than welcome to stay here with us.

C.Minor
Front Office Manager
Clarion Inn & Suites
1300 Canal Street
504-299-9900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Helena, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This makes the 3rd time for myself and friends staying at the Clarion Inn and Suites the employees are always nice, rooms are always clean, and its only about 3 or 4 blocks from Bourbon St., but the street car stops in front of the hotel only for a $ 1.25., and we were given towels and other services when needed all in under 5 minutes of calling the front desk... Cliff always makes guests feel welcome he gets an AA+++ and Shelton was nice and helpful he gets an AA+++ to.. The rooms are big with lots of space my friends and I a total of four always book one room with double beds or a queen and softbed room.. We will return again..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights and it was amazing. We stayed in the King Suite and it was just perfect. The service was great. We were greeted with smiles at the front desk. The hotel staff was very polite and very informative. The bed was cozy and comfortable. The room was clean and had a very great view of Canal St toward the FQ. This hotel was perfectly located away from the Bourbon St. It is an easy walk to get into the fray and an easy walk to get away from the noise and everything great about Bourbon St. I did not get to the pool or fitness center, but the rest of the hotel was in great order. Not also do I recommend this hotel, but I will be going back to here for future trips. My experience here was more than enjoyable. It was great!!!

Room Tip: I recommend the King suite for those of you that like to sleep. Some doors do slam shut and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atmore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed 1 night...this was about the only hotel NOT booked for the weeke end. It was very nice,clean, rooms were clean and very comfy bed. The staff was awesome, everyone from thre two girls at the front when we checked in, to the valet, to the kitchen staff. We stayed the night of sept 21....bed was small, which we knew it would be (we had decided to take the cheapest room due to just being in their to sleep)...bath was nice and clean with plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc. Bathroom was bigger than expected, but it only had a shower, which we also knew. Room had a safe, iron and ironing board, micro, mini fridge and a large nice flat screen tv. We had a street view out front and heard some sirens during the night, but ut was fine. All room doors slam when you close them....would like to see staff tell all visitors this...hopefully the ones who care would see that they didn't slam their doors when they go back to hotel. The room adjoining ours must have been a group or a couple because they slammed doors all night and talked loud (about donughts) and played the tv real loud. I stayed up a lot during the night, but it was fine too...i was there to go, not sleep! We got up and went to The Cafe Du Monde for cafe au lait and beignets.....then went back to the hotel and ate a real breakfast. Will do this next time for sure instead of going out. The grits and eggs are wonderful...would have liked some cheese for it,,,,sausage was ok, but was cold. Will definitely stay here again SOON!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniowilkins, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Cierra Minor
Front Office Manager
Clarion Inn & Suites
504-299-9900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans
Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Amex, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.