We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #110 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Found our room to be better than expected. Very nicely decorated and well laid-out. I was pleasantly surprised having the kitchenette. Great view. Breakfast was standard and as expected. I didn't give the hotel 5 stars because the parking left something to be desired. Small inaccessible lot meant we had to circle the block to load and unload and sometimes all spots were taken though we had paid for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniowilkins, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Cierra Minor
Front Office Manager
Clarion Inn & Suites
504-299-9900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    64
    35
    29
See reviews for
33
89
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

If you take only a quick look to the hotel you will find it confortable and cozy but staying in the hotel longer makes you able to see what it isn't. Breakfast is terrible and rooms aren't that clean. The overall experience is still good. And for all my gym-mates: you'll be waiting for one "all-in-one" machine, treadmill and a stepper. No free weights :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The streets in the center of New Orleans are narrow, but Canal street is wide and hence used by emergency vehicles. You will hear them! We arrived in rush hour with 2 out of 3 lanes in Canal Street were closed. The recipe for chaos!

The hotel has a parking lot some yards from the entrance and there is a fee. The lobby is nice and gives you that feeling you get in a much more expensive hotel chain. There were two lifts and you did not have to wait much for either of them.

The room was spacious with a fridge, and a stove with two plates, but not dishes or cutlery (silverware in the US). There is also the microwave oven. There was even this towel made to look like a sleeping animal to greet you.

The bathroom is small but delicate. The shower curtain was at least 2 inches too short, so beware of spilling water. There were some marks on tiles and wall from former fixtures, but otherwise nice. The water pressure was not formidable on the 16ht floor, but then this is a tall hotel. Our room had a nice view over Canal Street and faced west, but did I see some former water damage to the ceiling?

The doors tends to slam a bit if you are not careful. An uncontrolled group of youngster arrived late in the evening and with all the shouting and slamming of doors, sleep came only after some time.

The fitness room has two treadmills and other apparatus. It has water and towels, but no swipes to clean the equipment. There is a toilette and a shower, - all delicate a spacious.

It was not Mardi Gras season, but there was a procession taking place and I grabbed my set of beads before it reached someone behind me. We were very happy to chose just this hotel in walking distance from the other large hotels in town. We had friends coming over from Houston and with everybody within walking distance, we had a swell time.

A school class of girl spent one night. I quickly learned that all apparent “brain dead girls” does not necessary have to be blonds. The shouted in the corridors late at night and slammed the doors loudly, almost to signal; Here we are! I so happy I never got girls!

The breakfast room should have accommodated more people. There is a visible sign; “Do not take breakfast to your room”,- but we were tempted.

Would we come back to this hotel? Sure, but rather tomorrow than next year. We paid $297 , - parking inclusive. A really pleasant stay, much to the effort of the guy behind the reception!

Room Tip: #1606 gives you a view over Canal street towards the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel while on vacation. My husband and I stayed on the 16th floor and had an awesome view. The hotel was very clean and the staff was pleasant. Parking was not an issue like I've had in the past staying close to the French Quarter; the parking area was right next to the hotel. Parking was 14$ a day but def worth it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: stayed in 1608 would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It can be very difficult finding a reasonable, clean, and centrally located hotel in NOLA during any major event. We got lucky and were able to book a room here for 1 night...wish we could've stayed 2!! When visiting this area, driving & parking can be difficult, dangerous, and a little spendy. The Clarion is a bit north of all the action, but not too far to walk...and there is quite a bit of foot traffic on Canal so we feel fairly safe walking at any time of day/night...mind you at night we walk quickly & directly to our destination ;) The hotel staff is always friendly (we've stayed here on 2 occasions) & helpful. The rooms are comfy & clean, but on the small side... I've discovered that's the norm in NOLA. Regardless, our room did have a small kitchen sink, microwave, fridge, & coffee pot!! :) The only disappointment...there is not a pool. I also am still wondering...what do they do with all the vehicles?? The lot we parked in, both times, held 20 vehicles max & I didn't see another...hmmm

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor...14th, 15th...facing south or east to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Good: It’s centrally located with a street car stop, right outside. It's an easy walk to the French Quarter. The views from the suites on the 14th and 15th floors were nice, and the business center in the hotel is free to use. The staff was friendly, and the doorman was helpful. The bed was comfortable, and a breakfast buffet is included in the price. The area is rundown and as mentioned in other reviews seems shady side, but when an unfortunate accident happened across the street from the hotel, it was the group that had been hanging out all week that rushed to help. They stopped traffic, called 911, got the injured girl off the street, and took pictures of the scene for the cops, so don't judge your safety based on looks. The only time I was stopped as I passed the group, was when I was asked to take a picture.

The bad: The bathrooms are miniscule, and there is no counter to place toiletries in. They offer free internet, but good luck connecting. I was not able to connect at all in the suite on 15, and my friends were only able to connect briefly in the suite on 14. That's probably why the business center is free to use. There was about a 4in gap under the door in the suite on 15. The towel racks were inside the bathtub, but as mentioned the water pressure made that a non-issue.

Room Tip: The suites have nice views, but I would ask which rooms had the best internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first time to New Orleans was not sure where to stay but wanted somewhere we could park and walk everywhere. The hotel is good for this. The first couple of blocks heading to the main area of entertainment was a little shady but once you got past them it was no problem. If you do not or are unable to do a lot of walking the trolley has a stop across the street from the hotel. The check in clerks where anything but friendly. Someone should let them know it would not hurt to smile considering they are the first people you are introduced to and they may be setting the impression of their city. We were on the 12th floor and the internet connection was extremely poor. We had to take the chair and sit at the door to be able to use our computer. The room is not overly spacious but was clean and comfortable. The halls on the floor do not have carpet which can make it a little noisy when others are talking late at night going to their rooms. The breakfast was good and had a nice variety (loved having hot grits). The parking lot which you have to pay for is across the side street, not horrible but not the easiest for loading and unloading. We were able to get a spot in the front of the hotel to unload at check in but you have to wheel the luggage cart around to the side of the hotel (where the ramp is) to come in due to the steps in the front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.