We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A possible 'naughty'?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Victoria, Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A possible 'naughty'?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you ever stay there, one to watch out for. During a stay (Feb.'13) I found that an extra $40 had managed to 'find' its way on to my bill. When challenged the hotel said it was 'their standard charge for parking' (sic) which, in my case wasn't applicable so would automatically be removed from my final bill, A month later when I received my credit card statement what did I find? Yep; you've guessed it.A few letters later and the credit card company made a full refund. Not sure if it was a deliberate sneaky one hoping to get past guests or just poor administration but heh ho; no harm done. Reasonably inexpensive rather bland hotel with very limited facilities but you get what you pay for so on balance a reasonable place to stay. Very central to the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Rooms face either Canal Street (good) or rather scruffy parking area. Take your pick. This is a budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    84
    67
    39
    31
See reviews for
38
95
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had two expensive bikes stolen at the Clarion by Choice Hotels in New Orleans. LaQuesha Williams, Manager on Duty, refused to help us – citing that the hotel was not responsible for stolen property in their garage. The valet who parked our car assured us repeatedly that they would be in a safe locked garage overnight. When the car was returned the following morning, the bikes had been stolen from the rear of the car. The only people with access to the garage were Clarion, their contracted valet company Royal Valet and Bike Taxi pedicab co. We have made many calls to Customer Service via Choice Hotels (Clarion’s parent company). Each time, Choice Hotels assured us that they would help resolve the matter, and call us with their results, but each time never got back to us. According to our last call to them, they reached out to Clarion General Manager, Antonio Wilkins, but he is “ignoring” us. Avoid Choice Hotels, Clarion and Royal Valet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed with our 8 and 1 year olds for 2 nights. Room was clean. Crib was provided for free. Location on canal street made for easy walking to sights and street car pickup was right outside the door. Staff at front desk was friendly and very helpful. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night before leaving on a cruise. We often come to Nola and usually stay in the Quarter -Ritz, Sonesta, or Omni. We wanted to save $$ this time, so we decided to give the Clarion a try. I was skeptical after reading reviews, but this hotel blew my expectations away. The hotel is old, but the rooms have been remodeled. We had a double room on the top floor, spacious with a great view overlooking the CBD, ceilings were high, ceiling fans, custom mouldings, and a separate minifridge/sink area. The linens and decor in the room were much nicer than I expected and truthfully more luxurious than our last stay at the Sonesta. The bed had a pillow top which was a nice touch, and pillows were plentiful. The bathroom is very small, but no biggie. The marble in the bathroom was actually the same as in our room at the Ritz; thinking it was probably original. We stayed here for under $100, and it was a tremendous value for the room. If you're looking for a clean, comfy room just to spend the night on a budget, I wouldn't hesitate staying here again. If you're wanting the full hotel experience, head to the quarter.

Room Tip: Request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is just a few blocks away from the French Quarter. The immediate area outside the hotel is not impressive, but the view quickly improves. If you are going down to the river, just hop on the streetcar. The hotel shows an interesting mix of its past (including as dorms for Tulane U.) and its refurbishment. We thought it was nicely decorated. Our room on the 16th floor was quite large and nicely furnished and decorated. Breakfast was good, but not perhaps as good as it might have been, since some items could have been warmer. A room on a high floor would be a good idea, since we heard quite a few sirens during the night. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

First night door would not work had to change rooms next day did not clean room then the water could not be adjusted in the shower if you want to throw away your money this is the place they need a few lessons in southern hospitality

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We came with a group so we had a pretty good rate on our room. The location is so so in my opinion. Yes, it is on Canal St with the street car stop outside, but if you don't want to take that its a fairly long walk to most of the stuff in the French quarter. The area right around is sort of sketchy with loiterers, but they never bothered us and we were a group of 4.

The decor of the rooms was pretty up to date and the bed was comfortable. My main problem was with the water temperature. There was no middle ground, it was either so hot it was scalding or ice cold. When we tried getting it in the middle you would here a thump and then it would click over to scalding. We ended up having to take baths so we could get the temperature comfortable. A cold shower in the summer is not too bad, but during the winter its just insane. Our room was right by the elevator and the noise never bothered me.

I heard there was breakfast, but I never made it down in time for anything other than coffee. I never really got to interact with the staff, but they seemed friendly and our room was always clean-job well done house keeping!

Parking was 22$ per day and valet only. We drove around a bit and found another garage for 6$ per day.

Would I stay here again? Yes if I was on a budget, if I could afford better location and more upscale I would choose to splurge.

Room Tip: 12th floor was pretty quiet, window to the side street, not Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.