We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Nola” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value in Nola”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While I dream of staying in a boutique hotel or B&B while in New Orleans, my budget doesn't usually allow it. We had a voucher for Clarion and found this was the closest to Bourbon street and the airport without being on top of either. Older hotel, no bar or real amenities, but the room was clean and spacious.

I can understand the comments about the surrounding neighborhood if you have small children, but I didn't find it to be that bad. This is New Orleans after all. The hotel is on a busy street and the streets are well lit. No concerns on my end.

Room Tip: I would request a room facing Canal just so you have something to look at besides a parking structur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    98
    79
    40
    37
See reviews for
48
104
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an older hotel although aged it was clean. We had the Queen suite (rm 1502). It is in easy walking distance to the French Quarter. It is a little bit un-nerving walking along Canal street from Bourbon Street to the hotel, the neighborhood becomes questionableas you get closer to the hotel. We ended up walking down the street in the trolley car lane that is currently closed and had no problems. Although the hotel is nice enough if I ever go back to the area I'll pay more and stay on Royal or Bourbon St due to the area you have to walk through to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Clarion. The hotel is conveniently located on Canal Street and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and there was plenty to choose from (scrambled eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, muffins, cereal, breakfast meats, etc). We stayed in one of the suites and found it to be absolutely perfect for the two of us. The room was nicely appointed, the bed was comfortable, and there were plenty of pillows. The hotel itself is beautiful, I think it may have been recently renovated-it certainly seemed so. All in all we really enjoyed staying here and could not believe what a nice hotel it was for the price. We will definitely be choosing this hotel again the next time we visit New Orleans.

Room Tip: Spend the money and upgrade to a suite. It's not much more and it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were given an upgraded room which had an awesome view overlooking Canal street, so my review is biased in that regard.

The hotel is older and is worn for sure. The reason I was OK with that was because the price was great and you're not in N.O. to stay in your room. The short walk to the Quarter was maybe 5 mins.

Easy location, free parking, free breakfast (typical Clarion free breakfast), free internet - which are all bargains to be close to the Quarter - but not close enough to hear all the late night partying. Stayed 3 nights and it was fine. If the price would not have been excellent, then the worn nature of the hotel would grant this review a lower rating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

i took 14 gals to the Clarion in early October after the Ursuline Inn canceled our reservations on us. I worked with the sales office which was kind enough to help us book 9 rooms while just about every affordable property in the city was booked for this many rooms.

There were no complaints about the rooms from my group other than little things like knobs being loose, etc. All the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our double room was huge and comfortable. Hot water was readily available and breakfast was generally good. Varied from day to day. Some days had eggs, grits, etc. Others, waffles, cereal.

The only negative was the location. Being on the West side of Rampart was really uncomfortable walking around. The folks hanging around there are pretty scary and we cabbed it any time it was dark. Otherwise, perfectly fine accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is an older hotel that is within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, Basic but clean with comfortable beds and ample rooms. Be aware though, that as you walk along Canal street from Bourbon Street to the hotel, the neighborhood becomes uncomfortable (even for someone from Bronx New York!). My husband and I plotted a nighttime route to avoid the groups of young people loitering in from of carry-out's and dive restaurants in favor of the homeless lying along the street. I was glad my single girlfriend was staying in the Marriott on Canal instead of the Clarion. She paid a lot more, but did not need to resort to a cab to get back in the evening. Too bad--but maybe the difficult neighborhood contributes to the low price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Reception was friendly. Room was ready. Bed very comfy. Everything clean, only found two hairs (one in bed, one in shower). But walls are thin. Neighbor listened toTV whole night and had a cough.
But all in all good place for an ok price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion New Orleans
Clarion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.