We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Square

Jackson Square
615 Pere Antoine Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
800-800-0550
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 171 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fun area with street painters, musicians and jugglers.
Fiscardo, Greece
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A visit to New Orleans must include Jackson Square. The iconic St. Louis cathedral is the perfect backdrop for a photo opp. If you are lucky enough to visit in December virtually every night the cathedral has a free Christmas concert for one hour. The night I went was an amazing Gospel choir. On warm days, we like to grab a po boy and just sit in the Square soaking up the sun.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,797
    976
    171
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, Great Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a must in New Orleans. The park is stunning and the views you have from each side is amazing. It is clean well kept and closed during Mardi Gras, smart move by the city. The other times I have been down it is open to walk in, sit in, take photos and just absorb the peacefulness. All around the part are artists. Some of the best street artists I have seen across the country. Being and artists myself I have personally purchased from several of these very talented artists. Quality art at good prices. Support them, they work hard and most have some real talent. Not your average street art. Painters, print makers, portrait artists and more. Very entertaining and just a great day to spend a morning or afternoon after breakfast or lunch. Great shops along this square as well. I like to visit more than once when I am in NOLA.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the street performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The atmosphere in Jackson Square was fantastic the street performers were outstanding, be aware of pickpockets though there were quite a few around

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great place to stroll and see artists perform and sell their art. Great photography spot. Many people just sitting around and taking in the sights and sounds of New Orleans.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a perfect place to spend a little time. Loved all of the art work for sale . Brought some home! Loved the living statues. And all of the artists. We spent the day here and really enjoyed it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jackson Square to your Saves list