We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Square

Jackson Square
615 Pere Antoine Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
800-800-0550
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$89*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Mardi Gras Parade Premium...
Ranked #12 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun area with street painters, musicians and jugglers.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Street Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing street artists sell their work. I wanted one of everything. Lots to do and see around that area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,258
    1,236
    226
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Bowl Reporters-land!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We dropped by the Square the Monday after Super Bowl and got to see all the dismantling of the stands from the newscasters. A must see place since it is in the heart of NOLA

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Love the Street Performers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I give 4 stars just for the street performers and artists. I would not make a trip to New Orleans just to see this place - but if you happen to be here like I was, then you should stop by... plus it's FREE!

Walking around this part of the French Quarter felt a lot safer than Bourbon Street - plus it's more interesting to look at art rather than drunks on Bourbon Street.

My tip… is to TIP the performers that entertained you. Another tip… if someone panhandling tries to get you to give up a dollar to help them buy beer – act like you speak a foreign language – my preference is Klingon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of America's Great Landmarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Jackson Square, bordered on one side by St. Louis Cathedral and two city operated museums, and on the other by Decatur Street and the Mississippi River, is named for president Andrew Jackson,whose statue graces the center of the square. The bricks and cobblestones of the square are filled with artists and Tarot Card readers. Look for a caricature artist named Ross who will do a good job. This charming square is the heart of the French Quarter and is not to be missed!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice to Visit, But Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice to visit the street vendors and performers around the area, but there were way too many "homeless" looking for donations. We visited the area, but didn't stay long.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.