We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Audubon Zoo, New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
6500 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70118 (Audubon)
504 581 4629
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #19 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take a worldwide safari through Asia, Africa, Australian Outback and the Louisiana Swamp to view more than 1,500 animal species.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Audubon Zoo, New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Check out the various Bayou exhibits - not to be missed and get top the zoo by boat of by bus up Magazine Street

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    253
    82
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“CLOSED ON MONDAYS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Can't give a review.... We walked from the bus stop on St. Charles to find out the zoo is closed on Mondays... WHAT A BUMMER... Review will have to wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Relatively small zoo (compared to those in other cities) but one with some quality exhibits. It's accessible via the bus from downtown/the French Quarter, which was essential. We didn't get to see the gators (we were too tired), but the giraffe exhibit and some of the others were very impressive. If possible, don't go on a really hot and humid day, especially since the heat will drive some of the animals to hide. Oh, and if you get a "smoothie" to cool down -- just realize they can't give you straws (to protect the animals), so you'll be eating it with a spoon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visited with friends while in NOLA. We all agreed it would be the perfect place to have a membership to if you lived in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo, our family loves it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the first year we bought the annual zoo membership. I am happy we did and will continue to. Although the zoo is expensive to visit one time, the membership is worth is if you can make many trips throughout the year. The zoo is beautiful. There are a lot of animals. The food and drinks are expensive though. I usually have the kids eat before and then stop and eat out once we leave. It really is a nice place to spend the day with the family. I do think they need to pressure wash more often. I am not saying the zoo is dirty but it is not as clean as it could be for the prices they charge inside the zoo. All in all our daughters are very excited when we say we are going to the zoo.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.