We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite zoos in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
6500 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70118 (Uptown / Carrollton)
15045814629
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$11*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #22 of 298 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take a worldwide safari through Asia, Africa, Australian Outback and the Louisiana Swamp to view more than 1,500 animal species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of my favorite zoos in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very well laid out, staff very friendly...and the Silverback Gorilla...he's my favorite! Took a cab, but the trolley system is great if you have the time!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent the entire day roaming around this wonderful Zoo! The Audubon Zoo is one of the largest zoo we have been too and the kids just loved it, so did I!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take your kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

it was huge, very clean and wonderful staff, the showes was great, the food was good..I having nothing but good to say about this zoo!! Can't wait to go again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CRH627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Join the Zoo and support the animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Audubon Zoo is one of the best zoos in the country! Natural habitats, great exhibits, helpful zoo volunteers, great gift shop, fun water park ... come on out and have fun!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UntilWeEatAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
263 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited the zoo on two weekends, Swamfest being the first weekend. Overall it is a good zoo and worth the visit, especially if you combine it with the other Audubon attractions. There are interesting animals that we have not seen in other major zoos across the country. The enclosures seem very good for some animals but somewhat lacking for others. There were animals off exhibit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing