We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite zoos in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
6500 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70118 (Audubon)
504 581 4629
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat...
Ranked #19 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take a worldwide safari through Asia, Africa, Australian Outback and the Louisiana Swamp to view more than 1,500 animal species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite zoos in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very well laid out, staff very friendly...and the Silverback Gorilla...he's my favorite! Took a cab, but the trolley system is great if you have the time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    311
    111
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent the entire day roaming around this wonderful Zoo! The Audubon Zoo is one of the largest zoo we have been too and the kids just loved it, so did I!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Take your kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

it was huge, very clean and wonderful staff, the showes was great, the food was good..I having nothing but good to say about this zoo!! Can't wait to go again

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Join the Zoo and support the animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Audubon Zoo is one of the best zoos in the country! Natural habitats, great exhibits, helpful zoo volunteers, great gift shop, fun water park ... come on out and have fun!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited the zoo on two weekends, Swamfest being the first weekend. Overall it is a good zoo and worth the visit, especially if you combine it with the other Audubon attractions. There are interesting animals that we have not seen in other major zoos across the country. The enclosures seem very good for some animals but somewhat lacking for others. There were animals off exhibit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.