We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good day at the zoo.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
6500 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70118 (Audubon)
504 581 4629
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
New Orleans Super Saver: City Tour and Steamboat...
Ranked #19 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take a worldwide safari through Asia, Africa, Australian Outback and the Louisiana Swamp to view more than 1,500 animal species.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Imlay City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a good day at the zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The zoo is considered in the top 5. Not sure why it is rated so high. It is still a good zoo. The map is hard to follow and there was only one place where there were signs to guide you to different exhibits. There was one area where there weren't any description of the animals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    311
    112
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed, but still something to do...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love zoos, but my husband and I weren't too overly impressed with this one. The grounds are spacious and well kept... easy to get to... but the animal selection isn't anything special. It's just your typical monkeys, elephants, etc. I think the most interesting thing we saw was a two headed snake at the reptile house! Actually, we did enjoy spending time in the primate section -- monkeys are always entertaining. We went on a Tuesday afternoon which was nice because there weren't any crowds. However, some attractions were closed along with a lot of closures to the walking path... seemed like we just kept walking in circles just trying to get from point A to B. Despite our experience, the zoo is still a great activity to put on your list. Make sure you find a discount coupon though!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited the Audubon Zoo in April 2009, and we are very excited to go back in a few months - it's easily the most beautiful zoo we've been too and being a family with young kids, we've been to zoos in every city we've traveled too! It's a convenient size, the animals appear healthy and happy and the cost is low, especially if you take advantage of the city pass package. I also recommend the beautiful aquarium, also a family favourite.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a wonderful day with the grandkids. Lots of shade and things for the kids, little to big. They were getting ready for a Halloween party, bet that is a great place to trick or treat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique Oasis in City Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great way to spend an afternoon. Just take the trolley down St. Charles then grab the Audubon Zoo shuttle at the entrance to the Audubon Park (across from Tulane University). For $16 (adults) you can tour a zoo that not only has unique animal exhibits, it also has unique structure and decor. The Louisiana Swamp exhibit is one of its kind! Really authentic and gets you close to the animals. Plus, the food at this local is great! Unlike other zoo food, you actually get catfish, jambalaya, and Po'Boys. I was pleasantly surprised at with the South American-Mayan exhibit and the Asian Domain. Great structures and happy animals to see. It was a pleasure to experience this unique oasis in the bustling city of New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.