We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Aquarium of the Americas

Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
#1 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
800-774-7394
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #37 of 171 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Home to sea creatures from the Caribbean, Amazon, Gulf of Mexico and Mississippi River.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a neat place to take the family! The new addition of the parakeet pointe was so much fun! To have the interaction with the birds and to feed them was amazing!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    313
    157
    25
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were visiting New Orleans with our 5yr old daughter and tried to find family friendly activities for her. This was place was great. It isn't a large aquarium but you will be able to spend a few hours in the aquarium looking at all the exhibits and aquatic life.

Great place to go with small children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A fun day for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recommend that everyone get the combination package where you get admission to the aquarium, the insectorium and to the imax movie. When we got the package, they let us have the movie passes for the next morning so we did not have to overload our grandson. We were disappointed they were redoing the penguin exhibit so that was closed, but our 13 month old grandson loved seeing all the animals and especially enjoyed the parakeet room. You can buy the food stick and the parakeet will fly onto the food stick. They also landed on people's shoulders . They were extremely friendly and we had a good time. We came in when it opened at 10 had lunch, left after lunch, had a nap and then went to the insectorium. The next morning we saw the imax 3d movie on the coral reefs. No atrollers in the imax, but if you give them a driver's license, they will give you a lock for the stroller at no charge

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Over Priced & Over Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been to many aquariums throughout the country and to be honest this was one of the least impressive that we have visited. The entire aquarium takes less than an hour to traverse and for the cost of admission I would spend the money on something else.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Aligators and penguins oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very popular spot for kids and adults. It can take several hours to see it all throughly. Especially great on rainy days. Check out the Hurricane Wind booth or feed the sting rays. There is a lot more to do down by the riverside. Look for the big glass building next to the Mississippi River.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Aquarium of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Aquarium of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.