We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun tour of worlds largest float company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mardi Gras World

Mardi Gras World
1380 Port of New Orleans Place, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-361-7821
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$89*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Mardi Gras Parade Premium...
Ranked #20 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mardi Gras World is the most unique attraction in America’s most uniquely attractive city. Come see how Mardi Gras is made and get up close to Mardi Gras' grandest floats and sculptures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fun tour of worlds largest float company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent look inside how mardi gras floats are designed, built and decorated, as well as some history of mardi gras.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    450
    97
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A behind the scenes tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

To see the behind the scenes work that goes into the Mardi Gras parades is terrific. We saw artists at work designing next year's floats. It was a lot of fun to try on the costumes and take pictures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hypoluxo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Colorful but Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This inside look at the making of Mardi Gras is very colorful and informative...but the price tag of just under $20 I felt was probably about twice what it should be.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative, we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great way to spend a few hours! We never had the time to do this tour the last time we were here, but are so glad we had it on our itinerary this time.
We picked up the free bus, I think it was near the Algiers ferry port, this saved us a bit of a trek!
We arrived just a few minutes after the 12 tour had started, but we were invited to join it rathen than wait until 12.30. we really appreciated this.
We arrived as the group were trying on the costumes they have for visitors to wear for photo opportunites, a bit of harmless fun.
We then sat through a very interesting 15 minutes of film, descrpting the history of Mardi Gras, we found this very informative.
The tour around the warehouses was great, there are so many great photo opportunites along the way.
We learned so much from the guide, she was very descriptive and obviously enjoyed her role as an ambassador for the company.
It was brilliant getting to wander about at our leisure and not feeling harrassed to hurry along.
The staff we encountered seemed laid back and happy, one of the guys who paints the flowers must have been sniffing to much paint as he seemed to happy, haha! (only joking)!
We got our complimentary cake, which was fresh and quite tasty, we then purchased the token souvenier from the gift shop then we got the free bus back to where we were picked up, all in all, a great experience. We downloaded discount vouchers before arriving, we saved 2 dollars each!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calvary, WI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Way better than I expected, a definite must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went to New Orleans with a school group. When I saw this on the itinerary, I wasn't expecting much. Luckily, I was totally wrong! When we arrived, they had a bunch of festive Mardi Gras clothing, hats, etc. that the kids could try on and take photos in, which was really fun. We watched a short movie on the history of Mardi Gras, which kept the kids' attention and was very informative (I thought there was only one parade, but there are over 50!). Next we toured one of the giant warehouses where they store old floats and build new ones. The artistry on these floats is amazing. This is a must-see if you are visiting New Orleans.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mardi Gras World also viewed

 

Been to Mardi Gras World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardi Gras World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.