We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter

French Quarter
Canal St to Esplanade Ave, Mississippi River to N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit French Quarter like an insider
Special Offer
$38*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #11 of 462 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, Dining, City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The heart and cultural center of New Orleans is the French Quarter, a must-see for its high energy, rich history, diverse architecture, music, street performers, renowned jazz clubs, lively nightlife and the finest art galleries and restaurants in the city.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Beautiful architecture and great people watching make the quarter a fun place to stroll around. There are plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and photo opportunities.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,427
    2,102
    669
    211
    100
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plaquemine, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We live only about an hour & a half from New Orleans & so have been to the French Quarter many times, mainly when we have visitors. This time we only went to do a little shopping & found everything that we were looking for.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Music and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A lot of excellent music and interesting people ! Even on rainy day was a nice time to walk and enjoy everything what happens around you !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun but still dirty and stinky as always.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

French Quarter hasn't skipped a beat, still looks and feels like the old French Quarter pre-Katrina.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A genuine travel destination, a must see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've been to The French Quarter several times over the years and believe this years visit was the best, even though the shortest. Our perception was the general atmosphere had improved from last year's visit. We were comfortable walking to the attractions we visited and able to enjoy the scenery, history, and people watching. The French Quarter in NOLA has to be the people watching capital of the US, it's worth a trip for that, alone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Quarter also viewed

 

Been to French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.