We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful quiet retreat yet close to French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Lagniappe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Lagniappe
Save
You added Maison de Lagniappe to your Saves list
1021 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“wonderful quiet retreat yet close to French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We brought our 16 year old son to New Orleans to enjoy good food & explore the WW2 museum. Normally with our four kids we can't do the B&B thing, but since the younger ones were at camp, we wanted to experience a unique venue. Maison is a great fit, with a great host, Don, who is friendly & knowledgeable. The location is excellent, as it's a very short walk to the French Quarter, yet quiet. We didn't realize that Nola was within walking distance on our first night, and spent needless time & $ trying to find parking in the French Quarter...big hassle. There are several room options. We chose suite 5, which can accommodate up to 5 people since it has two divided bedrooms, one with a day bed, and a nice roomy living area suite with a couch, table with two chairs, sink, and flat screen TV. The bathroom is small with no counter space, but features a jet tub. The inner courtyard and garden is a delight, with a whimsical décor. We ate our first breakfast outside. The continental breakfast is simple, with a variety of breads, cereal and fruit, plus a featured homemade coffeecake each day. Saturday also had Italian quiche, and Sunday featured homemade biscuits & strawberry jam. There is a fancy coffeemaker with a variety of coffees which other guests enjoyed. Parking is limited, and you must reserve a permit in advance. We walked to the WW2 museum and enjoyed our strolls through the French quarter for that and dinner our 2nd night (GW Fins, which has fantastic seafood). The price was very reasonable, and we slept well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family stayed at this B&B during a recent trip to New Orleans at the recommendation of friends. The accomodations are excellent; owners are most helpful and gracious, and the location is very convenient for visiting New Orleans. Being from the upper midwest, we now understand what southern hospitality is all about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really, it's wonderful to be made so welcome.

The house is the essence of quirkiness, wall to wall antiques and bric-à-brac with a New Orleans focus, and it feels like home - because it is home: Don's and Harry's (and the girls'), which they open up to their house guests with undisguised pride and generosity. Whether you make your bed or not is your own business. Harry will certainly provide you with his own delicious fresh scones or banana bread for breakfast which you can have at 7 in the morning or 10 at night in the regal dining room or on the deck overlooking the lush garden. Coffee and tea are available round the clock. Help youself. And there is a fridge in the room.

The location is ideal: safe walking distance to the French Quarter and, even nearer, to Frenchmen Street. And as a woman travelling alone, safe is important. The proximity to Frenchmen Street is a huge bonus as that is where the music really plays - what Bourbon Street used to be before it succumbed to booze and tat: great music at d.b.a. and the cluster of live music venues round about.

Don and Harry know their Nola so take their advice. Here are a few things I loved: The New Orleans Museum of Art with the wonderful adjacent Sculpture Garden and the Café Noma to finish off. Free admission on Wedesdays. Wandering through the streets and around the cemeteries, especially St. Louis No. 1 on Basin Street, and the Garden District. Riding the Canal Street and St. Charles streetcars and the Canal Street Ferry. Taking in street jazz near the cathedral. The one-day plantation/swamp tour recommended by Harry, not cheap but worth the money. Alligators galore.

New Orleans is not exactly round the corner from the UK, but I would return at the slightest opportunity and definitely head for the Maison de Lagniappe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You have to see it to believe it. Our heads exploded with glee upon arrival!! Amazing hosts, atmosphere, rooms, everything. And cute dogs. Short walking distance to French Quarter which was perfect for a trip during Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was looking for something near the French Qtr that would be within reasonable walking distance to the Convention Ctr where I was attending a conference. I wanted quaint, authentic, eclectic and convenient. This was perfect! Not only was it 40 mins to the Convention Ctr on foot, I could walk 10 mins and take the waterfront trolley to the Convention Ctr or get on and off in the French Qtr along the way. We stayed in Room 3 which was quiet and next to the kitchen and breakfast :) The breakfasts were available in time for me to leave at 7AM and suffice it to say I needed to walk! We walked to and from the French Qtr each night where we ate dinner. We loved sitting on the balcony among the lush garden vegetation surrounding the house. It was also a convenient place to hop on and off to I-10 allowing us to explore the area's bayou's around New Orleans. Harry and Don, the owners were very kind, gracious and welcoming hosts. Our entire stay was made even more pleasurable by the three curious dachshunds that greeted us as we came and went.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Why is Maison de Lagniappe the best? Not only was our room (Garden Room) cozy and the daily breakfasts very good, but the location is PERFECT. Being able to walk to both the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street is a huge plus. Granted, my wife and I drove to New Orleans, but we didn't need our car for anything once there.

A few words about walking New Orleans: We had some nervousness over whether it would be safe to hoof it at night, but it turned out to be just fine. Coming back from the Quarter, we stuck to Bourbon and/or Royal all the way over to Esplanade, and then up to Burgundy and Kerlerec. I'd agree with the advice to stay between Bourbon and the river at night. Royal, especially, was quiet. We never felt unsafe.

Harry was such a gracious host and we enjoyed visiting with him about the history of the city and his B&B. (Don was away on a cruise during our stay.) He made sure we had everything we needed, and his expansive collection of travel literature and restaurant menus helped us, too.

We enjoyed the collection of quirky art, and the inside of the home was beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious, too. The garden was so pretty and green, and it provided great scenery when we had our breakfast outside.

Our room, the Garden Room, may feel a bit small to others, but we thought it was fine. The bed was comfortable and hardly any noise to speak of.

When we return to New Orleans, we are definitely staying here again. It is such a gem.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is nice and quiet, being it's at ground level and away from the rest of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked into Maison de Lagniappe on Valentines Day for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found more than just a place to stay but a new and interesting experience. The house is filled with antiques and art, a lush courtyard, and two wonderful hosts in Harry and Don. We laughed at Harry's stories and looked forward to Don's morning breakfasts. Many of our memorable experiences on this trip came from hanging out mornings drinking coffee on the deck overlooking the courtyard conversing with the other guests.

We always try to find places to stay that are unique and as much fun to visit as any tourist attraction and were delighted to find Maison de Lagniappe to be such a place. A highlight of our trip was spending one afternoon playing cards in the courtyard with the three house dachshunds and a macaw keeping us company. And having a small refrigerator in our room made it possible to enjoy hanging out with a supply of cold beer!

We have definitely found a new place to stay when visiting New Orleans and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maison de Lagniappe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Lagniappe

Address: 1021 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maison De Lagniappe Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Lagniappe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.