We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Tour with the Bayou Boat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 169 activities in New Orleans
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Hill Top, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand Tour with the Bayou Boat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I went on this tour on our first day in New Orleans. From the very start John our driver and guide was excellent and very helpful, the lunch was brilliant as it gave us a taste of everything Cajun.
The mix of Oak Alley and Laura was great as it showed the Rich and the Poor of that time.
The Bayou Boat ride was excellent and our guide knew where all the "Gators" hung out.
We highly recommend this trip as an experience of New Orleans.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    76
    21
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome City and Katrina Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on the City and Katrina Tour on August 2nd. We found our tour guide Ginnie to be very informative and able to give a personal account of living through Katrina. It was great to see so many sites around New Orleans! It was a relaxing tour...not rushed...but filled with everything we wanted to see. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small Airboat & 3 Plantation Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We took The Small Airboat Swamp Tour - by far our favorite tour in NOLA - our Swamp tour guide Rich was awesome, and introduced us to lots of Gators, Hercules, Hollywood and Dollar were our favorites!! We could have stayed out there all day, it was truly amazing.
We also took the 3 Plantation tour the next day, and our driver guide Diane was excellent! Very knowledgeable and interesting to talk to. The Plantations were all very different from each other and all had their unique qualities, but Houmas house was our favorite!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well Planned, But Needed More Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our tour guide, Ellen, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgable and wasn't afraid to share. She was friendly and made the journey out to the plantations seem short and a part of the tour. (She's a native.) We took the Laura and Oak Alley Plantation tour, which are truly amazing. We needed more time at Oak Alley to take in the plantation. Aside from that, no complaints :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Loved the gators!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved the airboat tour on the bayou with our boat operator Eric. He was very informative but also very funny and kept the day fun. It was the best tour we had on our whole trip to NOLA!! We could have spent the whole day out on the boat with him. In addition Niji was very personable and a great host taking us to and from our locations. She answered all the questions we had and was very knowledgable about the area!! Our only disappointment was the tour at Destrahan plantation. It was a little boring and we could have enjoyed just walking the place alone just as easy. This was by no means the fault of tours by Isabelle as they did not provide this tour. If you need a good tour on the boat I highly reccomend tours by Isabelle and Niji!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tours by Isabelle to your Saves list