We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Hurricane Katrina Tour - so good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$80*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Post Hurricane Katrina Tour - so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were a small group (4 people in total on the tour) in a small van with a great tour guide, Stanley. Learned and saw so much. What a great tour - highly recommended. I was nervous about seeing post katrina but it was so much better (tour) than I expected. Tour is as they describe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    108
    23
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Take the Grand Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent tour. Muriel was incredibly knowledgeable and very funny. Mr. Torres made the swamp tour a must see! A real alligator hunter.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lot of good information, but a few disappointments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went on the City and Estate Tour. Our guide was really knowledgeable and it was a great overview of the neighborhoods. However, WAY too much of the tour was spent at Longue Vue house and gardens. The house was nice but it wasn't obvious to me why so much of the tour was concentrated there. I feel that this time could have been better spent, perhaps with a more in-depth exploration of one of the neighborhoods or a tour of an older, more historical building like St. Louis Cathedral or the Old Ursuline Convent. The second major drawback to the tour was that although the website says that they will pick you up from your hotel, this only applies if you are staying in the French Quarter or CBD. Tours by Isabelle would not come pick us up from a bed and breakfast uptown and we spent a long time trying to park in the Quarter before the tour started.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursByIsabelle, Owner at Tours by Isabelle, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am so glad you found my guide 'really knowledgeable' and that you felt you got 'a great overview of the neighborhoods'
I am sorry you did not enjoy the mansion and gardens visit at Longue Vue, we do spend 1 hour there and most people really enjoy it ...
Unless we have a very tight schedule or an unusual traffic restriction (parades, race, festival, etc... on a particular day,(I am not sure what day you came on our tour?) we really do pick up every day in New Orleans at any hotel, Bed & Breakfast, private residence or restaurant downtown, uptown (close to St. Charles Ave.), in (or close to) the French Quarter, and on the Westbank. We do not pick up by the airport, in New Orleans East, in Slidell, or on the North Shore.
Again I really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us, we have been giving tours for 34 years and we keep trying to get better at our service, thanks to reviews like this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice overview of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took a tour of the city the morning after we arrived. It was a good overview of the city and nice in-depth of the Longue Vue mansion. It was a bilingual tour so the driver/guide had to repeat everything twice. She was very knowledgeable and friendly. There were just 7 people on our tour. The vehicle was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great tour company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We did the Laura and oak tour. Driver was a fantastic tour guide there and back and we enjoyed the plantations especially Laura. Highly recommended company, very professional

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.