We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans City Tour includung areas affected by Katrina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Ranked #33 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Orleans City Tour includung areas affected by Katrina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great tour led by Stanley,,,very informative tour by a passionate lifetime resident of New Orleans!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    92
    22
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitscoty, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tour hosted by Dyllan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wow. We had a group of 10 friends that went down to New Orleans and we had pre-booked this tour prior to departure from home for Laura Plantation, Oak Alley Plantation and Capt Torres swamp tour with lunch @ R&C seafood. Dyllan was funny, informative and a great host. We had cool weather so no alligators in the swamp but we had a blast with Capt. Torres anyways. The food @ R&C seafood was amazing as we tried just about everything on the menu, including alligator. The plantations were beautiful and interesting but exactly what you envisioned them to be but it was real. It was convenient as they picked us up from our hotel, intimate as it was a small group but great that we were big enough group to do on our own. Very reasonably priced for what all we did. Went out of his way to sneak us up to the superdome for a picture and it was a full day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mother and daughter New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After debating which tour group to use (Isabella tours a bit more expensive) we are glad
that we chose them. First off the weather (LOTS of rain) was not in our favor but being from
the northwest did not damper our spirits. Everyone was provided umbrella's.We were picked up on time in front of our hotel in the
French Quarters. The van only holds about 10-12 including driver. We were with a group of 8.
Appreciated the smaller group size. Our tour guide Diane was a wealth of information and provided us with Louisianna history, past and present, even maps. We took the Grand Tour, two plantations, included lunch and swamp tour. Plantation tours were conducted by Plantation guides and lunch at Oak Alley. We were disappointed that it was a buffet (restaurant being remodeled) but they provided a lot of food and good selection of southern foods.Swamp tour with Captain Gary was a real experience.
He is a local boy and full of humor which made up for the fact that we saw no alligators and only a couple nutria and egrets. The boat drifting through the bayou was enjoyable in its self.
I would highly recommend spending the extra money and taking a tour with Isabella. We felt
we got our monies worth out of the experience and we seldom do tours!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tours by Isabelle -- Post Katrina Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took this small group 3 1/2 hour tour on Friday, January 4, 2013, with Diane as our guide. The tour was tremendously interesting and informative. Diane was extremely knowledgeable both about the city and the hurricane, and she fielded all questions with candor and humor. An outstanding experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip.....Joseph is an excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved this tour! Joseph was our guide for a four-hour combination tour of New Orleans/Katrina. Joseph not only knows this city well, but he is also very proud of its history and traditions. Since we had never been to New Orleans before, we wanted a tour that was more personal than a big coach. We purposely sought out a tour with only 6 people maximum. He could drive us where the big buses could not. We are grateful for the excellent attention to detail, and we highly recommend this company. By the way, pre-trip reservations were handled very well with this company. We communicated with the company via emails initially (several weeks in advance), then they made phone contact with us one week prior to our trip to confirm the reservation. We highly recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.