We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother and daughter New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$166*
and up
Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Astoria, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mother and daughter New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After debating which tour group to use (Isabella tours a bit more expensive) we are glad
that we chose them. First off the weather (LOTS of rain) was not in our favor but being from
the northwest did not damper our spirits. Everyone was provided umbrella's.We were picked up on time in front of our hotel in the
French Quarters. The van only holds about 10-12 including driver. We were with a group of 8.
Appreciated the smaller group size. Our tour guide Diane was a wealth of information and provided us with Louisianna history, past and present, even maps. We took the Grand Tour, two plantations, included lunch and swamp tour. Plantation tours were conducted by Plantation guides and lunch at Oak Alley. We were disappointed that it was a buffet (restaurant being remodeled) but they provided a lot of food and good selection of southern foods.Swamp tour with Captain Gary was a real experience.
He is a local boy and full of humor which made up for the fact that we saw no alligators and only a couple nutria and egrets. The boat drifting through the bayou was enjoyable in its self.
I would highly recommend spending the extra money and taking a tour with Isabella. We felt
we got our monies worth out of the experience and we seldom do tours!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    112
    23
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tours by Isabelle -- Post Katrina Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took this small group 3 1/2 hour tour on Friday, January 4, 2013, with Diane as our guide. The tour was tremendously interesting and informative. Diane was extremely knowledgeable both about the city and the hurricane, and she fielded all questions with candor and humor. An outstanding experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip.....Joseph is an excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved this tour! Joseph was our guide for a four-hour combination tour of New Orleans/Katrina. Joseph not only knows this city well, but he is also very proud of its history and traditions. Since we had never been to New Orleans before, we wanted a tour that was more personal than a big coach. We purposely sought out a tour with only 6 people maximum. He could drive us where the big buses could not. We are grateful for the excellent attention to detail, and we highly recommend this company. By the way, pre-trip reservations were handled very well with this company. We communicated with the company via emails initially (several weeks in advance), then they made phone contact with us one week prior to our trip to confirm the reservation. We highly recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour even for those who don't like tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I do not like tour buses or organized tours, but as we were without a vehicle and wanted to see the Laura and Oak Alley Plantations, we took a chance on this one. We were very pleasantly surprised! The van only holds 11 people and our guide, Ginny, was prompt in picking us up at our hotel. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The sites were well worth a visit. I would definitely use Isabella again if in New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Interesting tours of the beautiful plantations, Ginnie was fantastic, she provided interesting and funny commentary to and from. In all very worthwhile but on the expensive end of a half-day tour

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.