We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tours by Isabelle -- Post Katrina Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 171 activities in New Orleans
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tours by Isabelle -- Post Katrina Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took this small group 3 1/2 hour tour on Friday, January 4, 2013, with Diane as our guide. The tour was tremendously interesting and informative. Diane was extremely knowledgeable both about the city and the hurricane, and she fielded all questions with candor and humor. An outstanding experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    76
    21
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northern Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip.....Joseph is an excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved this tour! Joseph was our guide for a four-hour combination tour of New Orleans/Katrina. Joseph not only knows this city well, but he is also very proud of its history and traditions. Since we had never been to New Orleans before, we wanted a tour that was more personal than a big coach. We purposely sought out a tour with only 6 people maximum. He could drive us where the big buses could not. We are grateful for the excellent attention to detail, and we highly recommend this company. By the way, pre-trip reservations were handled very well with this company. We communicated with the company via emails initially (several weeks in advance), then they made phone contact with us one week prior to our trip to confirm the reservation. We highly recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour even for those who don't like tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I do not like tour buses or organized tours, but as we were without a vehicle and wanted to see the Laura and Oak Alley Plantations, we took a chance on this one. We were very pleasantly surprised! The van only holds 11 people and our guide, Ginny, was prompt in picking us up at our hotel. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The sites were well worth a visit. I would definitely use Isabella again if in New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Interesting tours of the beautiful plantations, Ginnie was fantastic, she provided interesting and funny commentary to and from. In all very worthwhile but on the expensive end of a half-day tour

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“City and Estate Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Well, we learned a lot about the history of the city and we now have a much better idea of where New Orleans is located (Mississippi river & the Lake, etc.). We enjoyed the quick tour of the cemetery. Very interesting. The tour of the Stern Mansion and gardens was also wonderful. The young man that did our tour was awesome.

There were only 4 of us, so that was great. Madeline, our tour guide, picked us up at the hotel at 8:15 and dropped us off just before 1:00. Madeline is an ex-history teacher and it shows. She gives you two different hand out packages of maps and expects you to turn to specific pages when ordered to. Imagine you are in high school . . . Ask a question and you get, "I will get to that later." One of our group asked if a certain area was under water after Katrina and was curtly told, "you need to take the Katrina tour."

Madeline is a lovely lady with great intentions. Her knowledge of the city is amazing. She just needs to mellow and realize we are tourists, not 9th graders. If you want to learn the history of the city this is your tour. She explains it very well and it great detail. Just understand no tourist spots will be pointed out.

And there may be a test at the end!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tours by Isabelle to your Saves list