We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip.....Joseph is an excellent guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
P.O. Box 740972, New Orleans, LA 70131
504 398 03 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$166*
and up
Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours By Isabelle is the oldest locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company, providing first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979! Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip.....Joseph is an excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved this tour! Joseph was our guide for a four-hour combination tour of New Orleans/Katrina. Joseph not only knows this city well, but he is also very proud of its history and traditions. Since we had never been to New Orleans before, we wanted a tour that was more personal than a big coach. We purposely sought out a tour with only 6 people maximum. He could drive us where the big buses could not. We are grateful for the excellent attention to detail, and we highly recommend this company. By the way, pre-trip reservations were handled very well with this company. We communicated with the company via emails initially (several weeks in advance), then they made phone contact with us one week prior to our trip to confirm the reservation. We highly recommend Tours by Isabelle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    112
    23
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tour even for those who don't like tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I do not like tour buses or organized tours, but as we were without a vehicle and wanted to see the Laura and Oak Alley Plantations, we took a chance on this one. We were very pleasantly surprised! The van only holds 11 people and our guide, Ginny, was prompt in picking us up at our hotel. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The sites were well worth a visit. I would definitely use Isabella again if in New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Interesting tours of the beautiful plantations, Ginnie was fantastic, she provided interesting and funny commentary to and from. In all very worthwhile but on the expensive end of a half-day tour

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“City and Estate Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Well, we learned a lot about the history of the city and we now have a much better idea of where New Orleans is located (Mississippi river & the Lake, etc.). We enjoyed the quick tour of the cemetery. Very interesting. The tour of the Stern Mansion and gardens was also wonderful. The young man that did our tour was awesome.

There were only 4 of us, so that was great. Madeline, our tour guide, picked us up at the hotel at 8:15 and dropped us off just before 1:00. Madeline is an ex-history teacher and it shows. She gives you two different hand out packages of maps and expects you to turn to specific pages when ordered to. Imagine you are in high school . . . Ask a question and you get, "I will get to that later." One of our group asked if a certain area was under water after Katrina and was curtly told, "you need to take the Katrina tour."

Madeline is a lovely lady with great intentions. Her knowledge of the city is amazing. She just needs to mellow and realize we are tourists, not 9th graders. If you want to learn the history of the city this is your tour. She explains it very well and it great detail. Just understand no tourist spots will be pointed out.

And there may be a test at the end!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We did the Grand Tour and had a fantastic day!! Started with the high speed air boat through the bayou - our guide, Captain Gary, was a real southern character and our trip through the bayou was one of the best things I have ever done as a traveler. Both the Oak Alley and Laura plantations were fantastic - I had my Scarlett O'Hara moment at Oak Alley and the history behind Laura was fascinating. Thank you so much to our guide, Joseph - he was very knowledgable and gave us a day to remember. I highly highly recommend this tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours by Isabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.