We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great "kick-back" place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Termales del Bosque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Termales del Bosque to your Saves list
Termales del Bosque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Aguas Zarcas, Quesada, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quesada
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great "kick-back" place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed the thermal bathes at Termales del Bosque. We were very pleased with the room, the restaurant, and the scenic walk to the bathes. There is little to do except lounge in the warm waters from a nearby volcano but that was exactly what we were looking for.
Our room was large, lots of windows looking over their beautiful gardens. Very nice shower, comfortable bed, although their linens were quite tired and had no mattress covers. The restaurant was very good. We took the dinner inclusive package and enjoyed a nice buffet. The very best part of the buffet was the salad bar. We feasted on lots of fresh vegetables, homemade salads, & vino blanco that wasn't overpriced.
This is a place that the trip is at least 75% of the joy. The countryside surrounding this hotel is incredibly beautiful. We drove from San Jose' and the vistas were breathtaking.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for peace and quiet and a relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look out to beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

First of all, Termales del Bosque is NOT in La Fortuna. It's in Ciudad Quesada, and when we had to leave from La Fortuna on the next leg of our trip, we had to pay a cab driver $80 to take us there. The hot springs and the restaurant at Termales del Bosque were very nice, but the room was terrible. There was a strong mildew smell in the bathroom, the toilet seat was cracked, and three of us were only given one tiny soap and two towels. (More were brought later after we asked) There are no phones or wi-fi in the rooms, so when we had to find a cab, we had to buy a phone card at the front desk, and use a customer phone in the reception area. The furniture in the room was in desperate need of replacement. One nightstand and lamp were cracked, and the mattress on the bed was hard. Sheets and towels were threadbare, and the walls were thin. The location is just lovely, and the restaurant does such a nice job that I hate to see them lose business because they are not taking care of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't count this place out. Maybe ask for one of the bungalows...they might be nicer than the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is amazing.

However there are 2 things I really disliked.

1. We rented a 6 people bungalow. It was nice and confortable. However, inmediatly after our check in we went to bed and at the time we grasped a pillow.. we found a lot of hair on it. None of us had used the bed ... We asked the hotel to change our bedclothes, however, we ended doubling about theCleanliness
2. Horses are sick... really sick. They should take a better care of them.

Room Tip: bungalows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The place is gorgeous with wonderful thermal pools to relax in. The restaraunt was lovely and saw to all our needs. The place was very peaceful and had many staff members to help you out. The pools were gorgeous with much wild life to enjoy while soaking in the healing waters in the jungle. We had a massage and it was outstanding a relaxing massage for forty-five minutes was $28.00 before tip. We will return here on this trip as we enjoyed ourselves sooooo much ...
Thank you Termales Del Bosque! :)

Room Tip: Have a massage before you leave ... Enjoy! :) I have many photos to share but Trip Advisor add pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As I understand it, the rancher who owns the finca on which Termales del Bosque sits, built the hot springs spa first, then horseback riding, then the hotel. Overall, it's a wonderful location. In the early morning, we went birding on the little road down to the hot springs. Saw so many wonderful birds which also come onto the hotel grounds. In the evening, toucans come along that drive, too. Great places to go for walks/hikes into the hills, too. Very naturalistic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Termales Del Bosque is a lovely relaxing place to stay. It has natural hot springs that allow you to spend the day and or evening going from pool to pool, depending on how hot you'd like your experience to be. There is a lovely outdoor bar that happily will bring your drinks to you as you relax in the hot springs. The rooms are lovely and the grounds are breath taking!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Note this hotel is not especially close to Arenal National Park. It takes between 1 and 2 hours to drive there depending on route taken!

The hotel room was good. Our (sparsely furnished) room had 2 comfortable beds and was clean. There was good Air Conditioning. The hotel rooms were in a nicely landscaped area.

The first night we arrived we had dinner at the restaurant on-site. We did not enjoy the buffet style meal. The food was uninspiring and we had enjoyed much better food elsewhere in Costa Rica for much less money. Breakfast was even worse. The fruit was OK but the rest of the food was bulk cooked stuff. I suspect the scrambled eggs were made from a packet mix. One morning we were one of the last people having breakfast and we had to endure a waiter standing with his hands on his hips looking at his watch clearly waiting to clear the table! The second two evenings we went for food in Aguas Zarcas - could only find one place there to eat - Tsunami - which was good value and provided tasty pizzas.

There was a small spa near the hotel with Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Sauna. It appeared most people give this a miss with the hot springs nearby. There was also a small gym with rusty equipment.

I would not advise walking to the Termales. The sign says 800m, but it seems a very long 800m on an unsurfaced road, and once you get there its a 300m walk from the car park where you collect your towel to the pools. The springs really were excellent. A selection of pools of different temperatures, and staff come round and sell you drinks and snacks, charging them to your room. It was nice to head there at around 5pm and sit in the pool as darkness fell on the forest surrounding you.

Finding this place is an absolute nightmare, especially if coming from the Ciudad Quesada (San Carlos) direction. The google map provided on the hotel website is completely useless, GPS in the area is poor for some reason, there are no directions given, and Ciudad Quesada seems to be devoid of ANY road signs. I would advise you come via Aguas Zarcas - the staff recommend this if asked. If you do find yourself in Ciudad Quesada (its not very nice) and need to find the hotel, find the Church in the centre and go down the one way street to the left of the church past a Musmanni bakery and keep following this road. Going to/from Arenal is quicker via Aguas Zarcas than via Ciudad Quesada anyway.

I would stay here again, mainly for the benefits of the hot springs. They truly were brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quesada
22.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,756 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#23 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
21.4 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Termales del Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termales del Bosque

Address: 7 km west of Aguas Zarcas, Quesada, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Quesada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quesada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Termales del Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Termales del Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Termales Del Bosque Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Termales Del Bosque Costa Rica/Quesada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termales del Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.