We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican 10 minutes from I-94 in Porter, Indiana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago's Mexican Restaurant

Santiago's Mexican Restaurant
124 Lincoln St, Porter, IN 46304
219-926-6518
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Porter
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MI
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican 10 minutes from I-94 in Porter, Indiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you plan to travel a long trip on I-80/I-94 and get tired of the truck stops, fast food outlets, and assorted traveler oasis with limited food quality, take a short 10 minute drive to an excellent Mexican sitdown restaurant with affordable prices. Good food, in large quantities, reasonably priced. We had the "wet burrito" and enjoyed them immensely. Terrific food, atmosphere is quaint (not fancy); a suitable environment for couples, families, friends or people on their own.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME AUTHENTIC CUISINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

LOOKING FOR AUTHENTIC??? SANTIAGOS IS THE RIGHT PLACE, WE LOVE EATING OUTSIDE ON THE PATIO IN THE SUMMER. The atmosphere is quaint and the people hard working to please. Don't let the lack of speaking spanish deter you....they do speak english and can explain what the dishes are. Try the guacemole! We go to Santiago's rather than local generic Mexican restaurants because it is worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent menu, food, Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My party enjoyed the authentic Mexican cuisine since the owner, established cook was raised in Mexico.
Delicious food, many items on the menu. Tasteful, large portions,satisfying food.
Items such as soda & liquor imported from Mexico.
Only comparable competition is 60 miles away in Chicago, Illinois. U.S.A.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpster
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK at best!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was one of the first guests to eat here mny years go & it was oly OK then. I amost alway get mildy ill after I eat here. If you want good Mexian food in Chesterton or Porter, IN I can't stress it enough GO TO LEROY'S HOT STUFF on HWY20!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best guacamole in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is a family favorite....food is great, service quick and prices are very fair. The only thing lacking is a real margarita. The flour chips are awesome....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiago's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santiago's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.