We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West US Highway 20, Porter, IN 46304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was convenient to our route home, rooms were spacious and clean. Very comfortable beds, pool a little cloudy but heated. Nice breakfast bar in the morning. Staff friendly and helpful in finding a pizza delivery.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Miriam checked us in quickly and was friendly. Very comfortable bed in a nicely furnished room. It seems this hotel has been recently refurbished as the closet had some "new" smells that I did not notice in the room, thankfully. The room and bathroom were clean. Bigger bath towels would be a welcomed feature by the guests. Free wi-fi was appreciated. This hotel sits right next to a highway so I was concerned about highway noise when we checked in but thankfully the noise did not keep me from sleeping. The breakfast was adequate to start my day. If you are in the area, it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel went through a recent top to bottom renovation and the designer hit it out of the ballpark. Everything is beautiful (hopefully guests will do their part to keep it that way). Sheets are soft and a pale buttermilk color, matching the warm browns and pale olive greens of the room. The bed was sooooo comfortable. Breakfast was the standard, prepackage, but everything was well supplied.

We ended up here by default as we couldn't get rooms where we had planned, so while this motel is on a local highway, it is off the beaten track - but it will be worth your effort to find it. Do ask for a room not facing the highway and you will enjoy lots of quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had to find a hotel since we were traveling and weather was getting bad. First room had issues with tv and had to move, second room had other issues but was so tired just went to sleep.Could of been a little cleaner and desk staff friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Comfort Inns are predictable as a national chain, so what is noteworthy about this one is its solid breakfast menu. For example, most have wafflemakers, but this one offers a powdered sugar shaker and whipped cream to top your homemade waffle. Besides the common apples and bananas, you can chose tangelos for the breakfast fruit. Salt and pepper shakers are at each table instead of little packets in the serving area. Nice variety of breads and pastries. Not the perfect breakfast, though. No hot cocoa packets, which my boys love. And no fat free milk; only whole and 2%. About our room: comfortable bed, and fresh linen, but the widescreen, high-def 32 inch TV broadcasts in standard definition; what a waste. The showerhead has a great spray, similar to the wide shower head at Holiday Inns. The best feature of this hotel is location, location. It’s just eight miles from the Dunes National State Park and just a couple miles from West Beach, part of the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore.

Room Tip: Rooms 12-19, 212-219, 223-228 and 312-319, 323-328 face north toward Lake Michigan. Get any of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Coix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped for the night and after getting around the Chicago driving nightmare, it was a welcome relief. Everything was really nice and didn't expect such a nice place at the price they offered. The only issue we had to deal with was the parking accommodations are not designed for vehicles pulling trailers. While they have a nice straight drive behind the building a person a park in, you still have to get around some narrow spots and curbs to navigate your way out if another semi or large vehicle parks back there as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is reviews like yours that make us a better hotel. We will be addressing the parking issue in the near future. I have met with a contractor who will be working on the parking area immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first stay at a Comfort Inn was a good one, thanks to the friendly staff, quiet accommodations,and outstanding breakfast at the location in Porter, IN. Perhaps the most amazing thing was the basket of goodies I found on the bed when I first entered my room. Candy bars, crackers, a bottle of water - all complimentary!

I tend to stay at places more in line with Econo Lodge when it comes to pricing. For literally just a few dollars more and thanks to a special rate I was able to get through Choice Hotels, I was able to stay at this Comfort Inn. I am very glad that I did! In addition to everything I mentioned above, there was a large flat screen TV in the room, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a long time. Breakfast options included all the usual suspects, plus chocolate waffles, and hot eggs and bacon!

I give this Comfort Inn high marks. If your travels take you through Porter, IN, don't hesitate to spend a night or two here! Great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Our entire staff strives to offer great customer service, so we really appreciated review like yours. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1800 West US Highway 20, Porter, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Porter
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.