We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn & Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West US Highway 20, Porter, IN 46304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn & Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is renovated or very new - they had their "first customer" certificate dated 2009 in the lobby. Very easy to get to and nice area - very close to Indiana Dunes and other attractions.

Maybe it was an "off day" or something but check in time is 3 o'clock - okay good. I got in just fine but the staff seemed very, very disorganized and there was a line in the lobby of people's rooms not serviced or cleaned yet. I did not think too much of it but there were still people coming in at 7 p.m. and they were told their rooms were not ready yet! Holy cow.

The walls are VERY thin - you can hear everything.

Pool area is nice - good hotel overall. I would stay again.

Someone else in another review mentioned bugs - yes - I counted about 15 spiders all over the hallways.

Room Tip: Go to top floor so you don't hear everyone walking through the ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here on the way to Chicago just for a night. The property appears to have been renovated recently, with newer carpeting and upgrades in the bathroom. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was spacious, but furnished in a somewhat spartan manner. Unfortunately, the TV next door was very audible through the walls. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated, but rather crowded and the television was playing cartoons very loudly because the remote was left freely available (and was taken). Coffee and some other items were not replenished. Appreciated the free wireless internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet City, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

the room appeared clean. everything was fine until we went to sleep. about 3am. I reached for my Pop from the bedstand, took a drink & felt something crawling on My hand & Lip; turned on the lights, There were ants all over the place. Inside the cups of pop, all over the nightstands, crawling up the walls, called the Police to make a report, as I had accidentally swallowed some of the ants. The police came And also witnessed the ants all over the room...So at 330 am, We had to move to another room...This was definately the worst experience Ive ever had at a hotel

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Let me first start by listing positives: location is handy, price is right, and all reviews are right on that the staff is friendly. They were great! And the pool IS warm. I would say overall, our stay was nice. BUT. The pool area was somewhat dirty and stayed that way throughout the stay. Just jump in and don't look around, right? Also, found the breakfast to be a little lacking...yogurts ran out and there was no fruit at all, not even bananas. Walls were thin--could hear TV next door at 5:30am. That being said, again, the price was right so you have to consider that too. It's not going to be the Hilton.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask for a non-smoking room waaay on the end, and on the 1st floor, as smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stopped for one night and were very pleased with the accommodations. Everything was clean and the furnishings were new and state-of-the-art. Our room was very large and the bed quite comfortable. We liked everything about this hotel, but my favorite part was that they keep the pool temperature at 84 degrees, which was wonerful. I hate sticking my toes in a pool and having goose-bumps, but this pool was very inviting and relaxing. We would definitely stay here again. We do wish it was also pet friendly for when we travel with our dog.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed one night before traveling to Chicago. This Comfort Inn is a very good value for the price. The rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly, the breakfast satisfactory. This property is right off 94 and close to the Skyway. It looks quite new.There are other businesses near by. I would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Brand new, good value. Right off highway in a good area. We stayed here for 1 night to go to the Blue Chip Casino. Its 14 miles to the casino from here. There arent a ton of great options in this area, some are way too expensive (its $280 - $400 to stay at the Blue Chip or Four Winds on the weekend), many are seedy, a lot in bad areas, so we were glad to find this clean, inexpensive place to crash.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1800 West US Highway 20, Porter, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Porter
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.