We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Better Restaurants in Lockport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Onesta's Restaurant

Mama Onesta's Restaurant
1100 S. State St., Lockport, IL 60441
(815) 588-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Lockport
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisle, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“One of the Better Restaurants in Lockport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lockport does not have a long line of great restaurants, but Mama Onesta's is one of the better restaurants. Located in an older, restored building in downtown Lockport, Mama Onesta's is a good Italian restaurant. We were there for a company lunch function for about 30 people, and arranged a buffet lunch for the group. When we arrived, the staff was ready for us and the food was ready to go. All of the items served were very delicious and the staff worked hard to make sure everyone had what they needed.

Overall a very good experience and recommended if you are looking for good Italian food in Lockport.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Catering great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had our work luncheon catered a few weeks ago and the food was excellent. Everything was very good and it was a good price to feed 6 people, we will be back for dinner!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHicago
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“My second review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I've been here many times and always sing its praises, that is, until last week. First, the good: food is always excellent. It's not the most varied menu, nor the most original, but always well- prepared and delicious. Sautéed spinach is delightful, the garlic covered buns, not so much ( though others enjoy them).
Odd how bad service can detract from a good experience. There were only 7 tables and no shortage of servers. Then, why oh why, did we have to ask for every little thing....twice? Our server was no where to be found in ths small restaurant. Coffee served and he noted that he'd bring cream. Twenty minutes later, when I finally found him and asked again, it arrived. Same with a straw which I had to get up and find myself, after my request was ignored. Same thing happened when I asked for a glass for my father's beer. He is disabled and can't drink from a bottle....which should have been offered anyway in an upscale restaurant.
I don't think I'm being too picky when I have to get up three times to get something myself because, after waiting 20 minutes each time, I can't flag our server.
I ve found this place on repeated visits to have spotty service, but the convenience and cuisine makes it all worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was average for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was or second time here. The first time was shortly after they opened. Both times we were unimpressed with the food. The service was great. And the resturant clean. I do suggest making reservations or calling ahead to make sure a tables are avaiable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food & value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Been here several times & just took the time to review. Probably the best dining value in Lockport. Service always good, tasty food & really a good value as well. Clean, friendly atmosphere, good food, good value, whats not to like!! Nice convenient location as well & never a problem to park on the street within a block. Definitely one of the best in Lockport, hands down!! Have done both lunch & dinner & have never had a bad meal!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Onesta's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Onesta's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Onesta's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.