We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Restful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Speckled Hen Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Speckled Hen Inn to your Saves list
The Speckled Hen Inn
5525 Portage Road, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Restful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Such a lovely setting. The sheep were in full view, with a white fence enclosure and pretty barn attached. The house welcomes you with a little kitchen and gathering room for all to find a ready cup of coffee, tea, or even wine for sale, at a reasonable price. Everything is there for your needs, games and an inviting table, if you're in for a rainy afternoon. Each room has a lovely view of the grounds (nearly 50 acres). Our breakfast was just superb, with their fresh farm eggs and local bacon and homemade jam. Pat and Bob have thought of everything (even a power strip in the room) to keep you happy, even their dog is named Happy! We will definitely have to make this stop again, when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Happy is a great name for a Happy dog. As you can tell, he really enjoys his job. Thank you for staying with us and for the “lovely setting” comment. We are so fortunate to be able to share 50 acres in the middle of Madison with you. I will let the girls know that you enjoyed their eggs and Happy and I will rest up this winter in preparation for the spring maple syrup season so that we can keep the glazed bacon available for your return visit.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
192
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Could not have asked for a better experience . Accommodations were amazing and warm and welcoming. Happy was always there to greet us to(he was so cute)!I felt like I was in a top of the line sweet at the best luxury hotel ever! Breakfast will leave you full and happy, The food at breakfast was some of the best I've ever had! Do yourself a favor and if you're ever in Madison, forget the hotels and stay here you'll never regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Steve

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We agree wholeheartedly that everyone deserves to pamper themselves once in a while. We see so many guests arrive burdened by their life situations. We do our best to provide an opportunity for all our guests to relax and connect with the real world again. We do that by trying to connect you with the food that you can see growing in our garden and then served on your breakfast plate. We provide you comfortable places to relax and watch the sheep graze or read or enjoy a quiet conversation. Happy is a tail-wagging believer in the therapeutic benefits of petting a dog. Oh, and don’t forget the time honored tradition of soaking your cares away in a roomy tub. Every season brings its own special ways to pamper and restore your body and soul. We hope you will indulge again soon.
Bob, Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to find this when most hotels in Madison were booked because of the World Dairy Expo. How lucky for us! This will be our first choice from now on while staying in the area. Everything about it was top-notch and it was the perfect choice because there was plenty for my husband to do- (eat a great breakfast, help solve world problems with Bob and bond with Happy, the luckiest dog on the planet) while I spent time at a medical conference downtown. Next time we stay, I plan to get breakfast!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Sharon

We truly did enjoy the discussions with your husband and are very glad that you found us. A B&B is a great alternative to a hotel especially when you do have or want some time to just hang out and relax. I do hope that you will return again for work or just leisure…there are more world problems to solve and at the breakfast table is as good a spot as any.

Bob & Lucky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am always a little skeptical of B&B accommodations - unknowing what I will truly get. All my worries were quickly eliminated when the Bob showed us our room. Very modern, clean, and spacious rooms plus large bathroom (love the rainfall shower heads). Our group of 4 all wished we could have stayed longer than 1 night. The common area was very nice feature too. We sat around played games and drank coffee. Breakfast was phenomenal and would compare to many Chicago bunch places(Yolk, Bongo, Wildberry, etc). The property is very relaxing, but unfortunately it was raining the entire day. Penny enjoyed having the company of Happy. They set the bar high and would definitely return. Thanks Bob for the garden fresh tomatoes too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Lil

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing your friends along for the experience too! A lot of people think of B&B’s only as an escape for two but the many common spaces that we offer can be used for conversation and fun with friends. It is nice to have some place other than your bed chamber to relax and enjoy each other’s company. We do hope that you will return for a longer stay. Again, thank you for your gracious comments (and for taking some of our bounty of tomatoes!).

Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

this will be the ONLY place we will stay when we visit madison...
my wife and i stayed there for her birthday and it was perfect. we were made to feel like we were part of the family and bob and pat could not have been more accommodating...and happy was such a charmer.
the room (madison lakes) was ridiculous in how much it offered to the point that we struggled trying to find something that would make it better. it literally had everything you needed for a wonderful relaxing stay.
the breakfasts were delicious and they even catered to my wife who is celiac (gluten-intolerant) - which made her day!!
thank you bob and pat (and happy) and we will be sure to spread the word and be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Casey and Stephanie---
Thank you for visiting with us and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy that Stephanie enjoyed her birthday getaway. Catering to guests who have special dietary needs is something that we are delighted to do because it gives us an opportunity to serve you and also to grow in our ability to master the cooking arts.
We will certainly look forward to having you as our guests again.
Bob, Pat and Charming Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a wonderful find in Madison, WI! The Speckled Hen Inn is a true gem. The Inn is immaculately clean and our guest room was beautifully decorated and spacious. Bob, Pat and their dog, Happy, are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are "moment of silence" good! There's no way we will ever stay in a hotel when visiting our son. We've been too spoiled by our stay at the Inn! We're already talking about our trip up next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Carmen & Jimmy- Thank you so very much for the kind comments and may I add, that as guests, you are absolutely delightful as well. We are so pleased that you and many others are discovering that visiting friends or family doesn’t require that you crowd yourselves into their home or sacrifice your personal comfort to a big-box hotel. There really is a better way to stay. On a personal note, I would like to thank you again for the “special food gift” from Cincinnati. We look forward to your return visit next year.
Bob, Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great getaway. Owners are wonderful. Their dog happy is a delight. They have 1 pet friendly room which is a blessing. The rooms are clean and spacious. This is an extremely relaxing weekend. Madison is very nearby. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a recharging weekend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Bill- Thank you for bring your friends to the Speckled Hen Inn this weekend. We were very happy that you all could recharge from your normal life in Chicago. Happy-Dog misses his new buddy, so you have to come back again! Thank you for being delightful guests.
Bob, Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Address: 5525 Portage Road, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 50-acre property features gardens, trails, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their fine breakfast cuisine featuring locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. The Innkeeper's knowledge of the area provides guests with valued guidance in things to enjoy while visiting the Inn. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Speckled Hen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speckled Hen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.