We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Professional - not usually the pair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Speckled Hen Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Speckled Hen Inn to your Saves list
The Speckled Hen Inn
5525 Portage Road, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
“Cozy and Professional - not usually the pair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we arrived for a one-night getaway, we found a professionally run operation with a cozy feel. The service was excellent, the process was smooth and the right details were taken care of all along the way. The location was ideal, far enough in the country to be restful and close enough to downtown Madison to get a vibe fix. The breakfast was scrumptious as was the company. It was an experience to remember. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and for finding us “professionally run”. We try very hard to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is “in the details”. We hope to see you again in the future
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
192
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Countryside, Il.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stay at the Speckled Hen at least a couple times a year. This year we met my sisterinlaw to celebrate her birthday and Mother's Day. Pat & Bob are really special and always make our stay enjoyable.



  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us again. Madison is a “special place” in our opinion as well. Lots to do and see and it is just not hectic. I guess that is why it keeps getting rated as one of the best cities in America. Personally I am looking forward to getting the boat out to enjoy the lakes. Stay well and we hope to see you again.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was my pleasure to spend two nights at the Speckled Hen Inn in Madison, WI. I was looking for a bucolic getaway from the hustle and bustle of living in Chicago. It was just what the doctor ordered: peaceful inn conveniently located with privacy, yummy breakfasts, accommodating hosts! In addition, there were sheep to gaze at from my windows and a vast library of gardening, cooking and Wisconsin history. I will absolutely return to this wonderful inn!

Room Tip: As a single, I was very happy with the Starkweather Room, but it could easily accommodate two person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are pleased that you found your “bucolic getaway”, and were able to relax with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the sheep and our library. Hope to see you again when your batteries need a “re-charge”!
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed during the week at the Speckled Hen. Bob checked us in real quick because he was tapping his maple trees for sap. Everything about this place is great. It's quiet, welcoming, and has a feeling of home about it. Bob and Pat do a wonderful job of playing host while granting you the privacy you desire. Breakfast is my favorite part of the stay at the Speckled Hen; not only for the food but also for the conversation. Bob's fresh maple syrup was the star of the show. This is a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Green Features: Bob and Pat use local ingredients as well as ingredients they harvest on their property.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on the correct mix of “privacy and interaction”. We do try to respect our guest’s privacy, since we recognize that you did not come here to become BFF’s with the Innkeepers. Obviously breakfast conversations are the exception! Maple Syrup season was really good this year…we got several gallons over the two week period and can now offer it at breakfast as a “really local” product!. Hope to see you again.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Speckled Hen Inn many times and look forward to the next opportunity. It's so nice to know that when I am away for business I have a familiar, comfortable, safe place to stay. It is great for either working or retreat, and can be either social or very private. Bob and Pat are quite accomodating, and will be as involved in your stay as you desire. They reside in a separate home on the farm. If you miss out on breakfast you are missing a real treat. The food is outstanding. No detail is left unattended to.

Room Tip: Call Pat. She can advise you based on your needs. The Rising Sun room has a bathroom across the ha...
See more room tips
Green Features: Speckeled Hen Inn is up on all the current practices. The food is largely grown on site. They even have a greenhouse with solar heat storing tubes.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Shannon
It was good to see you again. As always, I enjoyed our "farming and sustainability" discussions.
This growing blueberry thing can not be as hard as it appears! Thanks for the comments from a business traveler prospective; staying at a B&B is a "relaxing way" to spend a "night on the road". Come back soon.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I chose the Speckled Hen Inn for a getaway for our first wedding anniversary. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before so didn't quite know what to expect. We stayed in the Haywood Hardy room and loved it. Comfortable king sized bed, jet tub, lounge area with a TV... it was awesome. We enjoyed walking around the land with their friendly dog, Happy, and watching the 3-week-old lambs in the pasture.

The breakfast was fantastic! They use mostly homegrown and indigenous ingredients and are amazing cooks. Bonus: dessert after breakfast!

We loved everything about our stay, and we hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are glad that you celebrated your first wedding anniversary with us and that you will return in future years. You picked the perfect room. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast...does not everyone have desert for breakfast?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My daughter & I stayed at the Inn after taking a college tour at Madison. It was wonderful! The room was very comfortable and it had a great steam shower. My daughter loved the animals. Breakfast was delicious. Will absolutely return next time we go to Madison.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We hope that we will see you for the next 4 years if your daughter selects the University of Wisconsin. Thanks for staying with us.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Address: 5525 Portage Road, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 50-acre property features gardens, trails, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their fine breakfast cuisine featuring locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. The Innkeeper's knowledge of the area provides guests with valued guidance in things to enjoy while visiting the Inn. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Speckled Hen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speckled Hen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.