We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion Hill Inn
424 North Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why would you stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a NYE getaway weekend at Mansion Hill Inn and it was exceptional. We are well traveled people who have stayed in a number of accommodations in the states and in other countries and this was one of our favorite places we have stayed so far.

The rooms: Beautiful. We stayed in room 6 which was a standard room. Perfect if a queen bed is okay by you. All standard rooms included heated floors in the bathroom and rain head shower heads. We got to see a few of the other rooms and they are also exceptional and worth the extra money. Like people have said, room 7 is really exceptional but any room is going to make for a comfortable stay.

Service: Unbelievable. Everyone was very friendly from welcoming us as we returned each evening, to the turn down service and cookies in the evening, to the handwritten notes...the light was bothering us in our room from the hallway and they were kind enough to remove the bulb so we could sleep better. John noticed a noise from our heater in room 6 on day one and offered us a stay in room 10 since it was vacant that night. The upgrade was really nice! A bigger room with a master bath which included a huge shower and a huge whirlpool tub! Erin was kept us company at the bar downstairs on our first night ...a really great bartender and also easy to chat with.

There are also board games and snacks available all day in the parlor and bar. Breakfast is yummy with plentiful pastries, granola, yogurt, deli meats and cheeses, toast and jams. Bar is open 24 hours.

I could go on and on, Mansion Hill was a beautiful and restful place to stay. Highly recommend! Thanks to John, Erin, and Grace and everyone else who made our stay relaxing and fun!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
48
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Madison at the Mansion Hill Inn with another couple. We were in town for college football. Aside from the town of Madison bring a great little college town the inn was incredible. The home itself is amazing architecturally, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They don't have a kitchen but the inn is within close walking distance to both the State Street area as well as the Capitol. They even have a fleet of bikes you can borrow to run around town, which I did. The rooms are great, very period appropriate but extremely comfortable with all modern amenities.

I would definitely recommend a stay here and will come back the next time we're in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely! We stayed on third floor in this amazing venue. Staff was fabulous with respect to service. Food was great! Took pictures of it so we could copy when we entertain. One small complaint is that the grout in shower not perfectly clean. We have the exact same tile/grout in our shower at home. Solution is simply to make sure the bleach based cleaner touches all parts of shower. Would return to this venue without question.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoBVallarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

From phoning to make our reservation to checking in and out-- it was a wonderful experience. Our room was on the 1st floor and very well appointed. The bed was so comfy!! Breakfast was more then continental--pastry--bagels--fresh juice--when returning after shopping cold drinks available. If our path takes us back to Madison this is the only place we would stay..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Mansion Hill Inn is a perfect combination of location, charming and spacious accommodations, and friendly professional service.

Our room had a large balcony with hardwood floors and two comfy chairs where we relaxed both days we were there.

The European breakfast was excellent.

The Inn is owned by the Trek bike company and there is a bike theme throughout including prints from the Tour de France as well as Trek bikes for use by guests.

Room Tip: Room #7 has the awesome balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I spent two nights at the Mansion Hill Inn. The staff and service were truly top notch. The rooms were large and decorated with class and charm. The location was spot on. I will be staying here every time I come back to Madison. Lets keep this small hotel a secret so we can all enjoy this wonderful place.

Room Tip: I was in room #8 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Traveling from Amsterdam, it was quite some distance to get to, but i'd do it again in a heart beat! It's not often one finds such an exquisitely finished Inn with outstanding, understated service.
We loved it and would definitley go back!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautiful, they vary in size. Ours had a fireplace, I'm not sure if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Address: 424 North Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations, historic charm, an onsite bar and complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use. Ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations, Badger sports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mansion Hill Inn to your Saves list