We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Trek property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mansion Hill Inn to your Saves list
Mansion Hill Inn
424 North Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful Trek property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This Inn was very cozy. We checked into room 8 which was larger than photos and descriptions had previously hinted. The shower was also roomy with 2 shower heads and Aveda products. Our room had a gas fireplace but not much heat came from it. We were okay with this since the thermostat worked perfectly. We wondered if the property was owned by Trek, and this was later confirmed by their wifi password and the large photo of Dick Burke in the lobby/bar.The mini breakfast was superb with delicious pastries, granola, yogurt and berries.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    18
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
66
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is well positioned to take advantage of campus life, the capitol scene (farmers market, great restaurants), as well as State Street shopping. We parked our car for the weekend and walked or biked everywhere (nice Trek bikes at your disposal). The building is beautiful and the hotel is well maintained. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and they had nice Aveda products in the bathroom. By Madison standards the place is a bit pricey, but really is unique and a nice experience. Oh, I almost forgot that the staff are top notch-- sincerely friendly and helpful, which we very much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Loved our time at Mansion Hill Inn. The room was spacious with gas fireplace, comfortable couch, flat screen tv, and private porch. Behind the bookcase, was an enormous bathroom with tile shower, heated floors, and separate heat zone. The staff was top notch and attentive. The turn-down service, cookie before bed, and handwritten note on tomorrow's weather and events was so great. I thoroughly recommend Mansion Hill Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Mansion is more of a hotel in its service level. More of a B&B in its historic charm, elegance, size and comfort. The bar is a great place to have a drink before finding a place for dinner. Trek bikes are available for a ride. Very friendly staff. FYI...the Mansion was renovated a couple years ago. It is fully open now.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great location, can walk to all the restaurants and activities downtown Madison has to offer. We loved that they had a fleet of bikes so you could just hop on one and go on the many miles of bike paths Madison has to offer.
Our only complaint was the amount they charged for a glass of wine. I do not mind paying for a glass (many B&Bs with free wine have mediocre wine) but to pay as much for a glass as the bottle costs seems outrageous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very quiet, well-appointed, perfectly located, immaculately maintained inn with comfortable beds, designer bathrooms and excellent climate control, as well as excellent and cheerful service. However, what the other reviewres don't mention is that the bedrooms have huge French windows and the neighboring houses are in very close proximity, as are a couple of streets. Make sure to close the curtains before you get undressed.

Otherwise, the only two drawbacks to this Inn are: (1) Apparenly Madison has "hard water," or at least this place does, so expect to spend a lot of extra time rinsing the soap off; (2) the breakfast, though fine, is not commensurate with the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT HOREB
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our visit at the Mansion Hill Inn in Madison, WI was perfect from beginning to end. Pulled up in front and unloaded our luggage and the free valet service parked our car for us. The building is beautiful - I read that it had been restored and everything did look wonderful & new. Service was excellent throughout the stay - some of the pluses: we were brought warm chocolate chip cookies both nights, staff were always friendly and offered to help us find places to eat and gave us a map, 24 hour bar - free soda and reasonably priced beer/wine (no mixed drinks). I also heard that they provide bikes to roam the city, but we weren't brave enough to try that.

It was a great location to explore Madison from. We walked to the square Sat morning and visited the Farmer's Market, walked down State Street, and explored a bunch of bars and restaurants during our stay. Didn't need the car again until we left.

Our room (#1) was on the ground floor (actually down a flight since it's built into a hill). It had an outdoor patio, huge bathroom with walk-in shower, a sitting room w/ a pullout sofa, 2 flatscreen tvs, a fireplace, and a large bedroom w/ comfortable bed.

We walked up the spiral stairs to see the view from the top (can see the Capitol from one side), and were able to peek into a couple of the other rooms that weren't occupied yet. Most seemed smaller than ours, except for the top floor rooms.

There was complimentary food every morning - pastries, nuts, fruit, granola, yogurt, etc. Just can't say enough about how great this place was!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Address: 424 North Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.