We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Comfortable, Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livingston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Livingston Inn to your Saves list
Livingston Inn
752 E. Gorham Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cozy, Comfortable, Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love staying at B&B's when we take car trips. It is such a great way to have instant familiarity with the local area, be comfortable and not feel like another hotel which all eventually blend into one another. At Livingston Inn we didn't meet Dave, but Peggy and their dog made us feel right at home. (When we leave our pooch at home we always can use a dog fix!) Livingston Inn isn't huge, but the layout is charming and decor warm and comfortable. As noted elsewhere the stairs are steep but we're both seniors and they weren't daunting. Tips from Peggy on local activities and restaurants were right on and breakfast was delicious. Great spot to stay in Madison which is near downtown but has a rural feel to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
65
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a night here, and felt like we were visiting friends or relatives, since Peggy, Dave, and their dog were so nice and friendly. We were met with wine and local beer, had a nice and quiet room (Pickering), and a very good breakfast. The bonus was a short walk from their backyard down to the lake for a colorful sunset.
Larry and Tena (Colorado)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for several nights. We stayed in the both the Pickering and Mendota rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic as well as the conversation each morning. Peggy and her family are the best hosts and we definitely were made to feel like part of the family. The beds are comfortable, but make sure you don't oversleep and miss the breakfasts! We would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying in bed and breakfasts. Make time to sit on the front porch for awhile and enjoy the neighborhood and lovely yard. It's easy to drive from this neighborhood into all parts of Madison. Peggy had great suggestions for where to eat and what to do. A perfect stay!

Room Tip: Be aware that it is an older house and that if you have a problem negotiating stairs, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and it was perfect in multiple ways. As a fan of historic buildings, my wife and I loved the 1850s Gothic Revival-style house and its lovely restoration. Yet, you didn't feel like you were staying in a museum setting, but in a very homey B&B. The guest rooms were large and comfortable. The common areas were very relaxed, including a front porch facing a lovely landscaped yard, a cozy back yard, and a private walk to the nearby Lake Mendota (at the end of the side street). The price included a lovely breakfast and hosts that were helpful, friendly, but not intrusive. Be sure to check out the guidebook they provide in your room. Plenty of helpful advice and tips on the neighborhood and getting around. One final thing: You are located in a neighborhood, not in the heart of the campus or downtown (although it's only a short walk away). So be prepared to walk places or rent a bike at the nearby rental stand.

Room Tip: Every room I saw seemed comparable. We stayed in a corner room accessible by a steep stair. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Livingston Inn in early May. We came to town for a super fast get-away (arrive, dinner, sleep, breakfast, leave) -- but even in that limited amount of time, we had a chance to really enjoy the Inn. Peggy was a very gracious host (and generous with the wine hour). Our room was comfortable and it was cool enough to use the fireplace. We were able to walk to dinner near the capitol building. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious -- perfect! Thanks Peggy for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and absolutely loved it. I lived in Madison for 5 years and am very familiar with the area. Peggy gave some great suggestions and helped us discover some new restaurants and points of interest. The home is absolutely beautiful and the room was spacious and quiet. I enjoyed wine hour and great conversations with Peggy. Breakfasts were tasty as well. We loved it so much we book another weekend in July. Stay here. You will not regret it. Fabulous location and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked as a quick anniversary getaway. Very interesting property with a fantastic location in Madison. Easy walk to restaurants, lakes, capitol square. Room was clean and well appointed. Was wary of the "heavy" Victorian decor but it all fit together and each room of the house was interesting and inviting. Peggy and Dave are great hosts and genuinely interested in making your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingston Inn

Address: 752 E. Gorham Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livingston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.