We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livingston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Livingston Inn to your Saves list
Livingston Inn
752 E. Gorham Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
Morristown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a fabulous week-end at the Livingston Inn in October - could not have been better! Highly recommend the Inn to everyone. it was our first visit back to Madison since graduating in 1984 - we brought our two teen-agers along as well. Peggy and Dave were gracious, informative and made us all feel so comfortable. Next time we are back we will definitely be staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
65
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Peggy made us feel at home, took care of all of our needs - including knowing the local restaurant scene. Highlights: great breakfast, charming building, luxury amenities. 20 minute walk to campus along the lake helped burn off the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ours was Medota Room. View of lake with gas fireplace. Very nice. Be sure you can navigate a stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Anyone heading to Madison, Wisconsin should consider staying at The Livingston Inn if they can get in. If there is no availability, you should change the dates of travel. We stayed in the Garden House..the room has 11 sky lights. It was so cool during a very rainy night. The view of the sunset over Lake Mendota was beautiful and the heart of Madison is just a 10 minute walk. Peggy suggested two restaurants and we went to both: Fore Quarter and Graze...both fabulous. The breakfasts at the Inn were wonderful and we met some great people from Chicago, Washington D.C. and Las Vegas. Peggy and Dave could not have been more charming hosts. When we go back we will most certainly stay at the Livingston Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Livingston Inn a couple of weeks ago and we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Garden house, which is a separate one-room house in the backyard. The view on the lake is breathtaking and it's surrounded by gardens. Peggy and Dave are wonderful hosts and treated us like family. It felt like home. The gourmet breakfast and pastries were delicious. Not to mention their adorable and very smart puppy. We had such a lovely time. Thank you !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night and LOVED it!!!! The room was beautiful, and the hosts were very gracious!!! We were looking for a cute place in downtown Madison besides the Mansion Hill Inn and feel like it was every bit as awesome as we had hoped! Thank you!!! The breakfast food was pretty tasty, and they were very helpful in trying to make dinner reservations for us. The room was very cozy and romantic, and the garden view was wonderful.We would recommend to anyone looking for that kind of spot,and we wouldn't trade it for a big hotel suite any day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Most excellent bed and breakfast with friendly and informative hosts, beautifully appointed decor and furnishings--soft bedding and a smart puppy dog!! Everything I ever wanted in a quiet leisure stay! Plus gourmet breakfast w/ fresh pastries and coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Livingston Inn twice in the last 3 weeks and had a great stay both times. I have only stayed in the Garden House, which is a separate one-room house in the yard next to the big house. It is lovely. It has a beautiful view of the lake and it is surrounded by gardens. The linens on the bed were beautiful. Peggy and Dave accommodated my schedule both stays, with check-in and breakfast. Love the early coffee pot available before breakfast is served. My daughter and I even ate our breakfast out in the back garden. We have a new grandson just born in Madison and plan to be there often, and plan to stay at the Livingston Inn as often as we can. Want to stay in one of the bedrooms with a fireplace this winter. Peggy and Dave make me feel like this is a home away from home. Judy

Room Tip: In the Garden House you can open the windows and have a lovely breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingston Inn

Address: 752 E. Gorham Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livingston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.