We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Top Grill

Flat Top Grill
538 N. Midvale Blvd., Madison, WI 53705
+1 608-236-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 850 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Asian fusion, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good - room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This restaurant is a fabulous concept and very delicious. My family found the food line very difficult to maneuver and get our food items for stir frying. The set up is buffet style...however the items aren't on each side so if you go on the left side you may not get an item that is on the right side...it's hard to reach across to get an item. This is the same for sauce options. They could look to add duplicate items to resolve the reach or additional stands to incorporate a one line flow. All in all the food was delicious and there were alot of options to include. Service was nice and friendly...we'll go back again just hoping for a slow day when you can circle around the table to ensure you get what you want.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Recent visit was a disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have been to Flat Top a few times since it opened and usually it's a fairly good experience. That all changed on our most recent visit. We had our 8 month old with us, so we took it in turns going up to assemble our meal. We understood this meant we wouldn't get served at the same time, however, my wife's took an absolute eternity to arrive - I had long since finished by the time hers got to the table. People who had gone up after her had also had their food and finished. We were just about to go and see what had happened when it finally arrived. However, the fist thing she saw was a large piece of raw chicken sitting on the top! We were stunned. I don't have to tell you how bad that is. It doesn't get much worse.

To be fair, the staff were also shocked. The host came and apologized, our server apologized...even another server not even assigned to us came over and expressed her sympathy. My wife got another dish, properly cooked this time, and the cost was removed from our bill as well. At least they genuinely seemed to care.

Flat Top has never blown us away with their food - we mainly go for the novelty value. Unfortunately, I can't see us ever going back there again now. We appreciated their concern, but serving a customer raw chicken is not something that should ever happen.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for Vegans and Meat Eaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I love the you build your own stri fry and can request (with a white stick in your bowl) that your food be cooked in a wok instead of on the flat top grill to avoid meat or allergens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A do it yourself for a fun experience but to make it taste good you have to pick the right combinations of flavored ;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A wide variety of ingredient to chose from to customize noodle, rice or salad based compositions, in a fun ambiance: great concept and good experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good....but please wash your hands.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Ok, from the title I probably have you confused. I was part of a large group that recently ate at the Flat Top Grill in Madison. This was my first visit.

Veggies - Large assortment, so everyone could find something that they liked.
Sauces -There was a large assortment of sauces to select from.
Meat - Aprox 6 different types from white fish, chicken, calamari, steak and a few others.

First of all, do not fill your bowl with rice! If you want more rice, your waiter will bring it to your table.

WASH YOUR HANDS BEFORE RETURNING TO YOUR TABLE! The tongs that you I used to select my chicken with were SLIMMY. This is an accident waiting to happen.

In fact, one of our group is still not feeling well. Nothing like a good case of salmonella for the Holidays.

I should call the restaurant, but a couple of our group members said that the buffet line is always the same, so WASH YOUR HANDS.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Top Grill also viewed

 

Been to Flat Top Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Top Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.