We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro

Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro
601 Junction Rd, Madison, WI 53717-2155
608-664-9565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 837 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Sauk Road
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we were recently in Madison, my husband suggested going to Eno Vino. We did not know what to expect, but it turned out to be a very nice surprise.

This is a small plate resturant and the serving size is that of an appetizer. The idea is similar to that of a tapas resturant. The menu is varied among the meat entrees - seafood, beef, and pork. The dishes were delicious and came to the table within a reasonable time frame. The service is excellent and attentative without being overbearing.

Of course with this establishment being a wine bar, the wine list is extensive and excellent. My husband and I had an wonderful Pino Gris. The servicer was very helpful with our selection. The ability to choose the wine from an iPad was neat "techy" option.

Yes, the meal may be more expensive than in a most traditional resturants. However, it was no more expensive than the other upscale small plate establishment I have frequented. However, the quality and presentation of the small plates and the service justifiy the cost.

We recommend Eno Vino and definately plan to return when we visit Madison again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    31
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“different experience that doesn't quite work at meal time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This restaurant offers an interesting menu of hors devours, appetizers and desserts that are intended to replace the need for entrees. They recommend each patron purchase 2 to 3 items that range from the teens to $25. Pair these up with wines and good company and this can be a fun experience. Overall for the price and at dinner time, I would have preferred a well prepared entree. The atmosphere is nice, but became loud and the server seemed to be interrupting every few minutes asking us if we wanted something else in addition to a random order of different appetizers constantly flowing on and off the table. It was interesting but I would probably not go back at meal time. Parking was a problem even on mid-week evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good service but overpriced. Inside is dark. The food is tasty, but the servings are small for the price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extended Stay at Eno Vino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great dinner again with good friends. Sat down at our table around 7:15 and left at 11:00. Never felt rushed to leave and the service was great. Highly recommend Eno Vino.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Really?"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went out to Eno Vino because it was close to our hotel and we wanted to grab a late night drink. Upon entering, it has a warm feel and there are many places opposite the bar to sit…comfortable, upholstered couches/love seats. Then we looked at the wine selection and it really looked like there was a lot of variety. By the glass, they didn’t really have exactly what we were looking for, so we decided to try the “wine flights” that were highlighted on the menu.

Our server/sommelier came by and greeted us. We told her our tastes…I was looking for a spicy red and she was looking for a nice dry white and we asked for direction as far as which “wine flight(s)” she would recommend. Here is where red flags popped up big time…….The extent to which the server could direct us is to use short descriptions like “This flight is kind of Bubbly…” to describe the flight that was called, on the menu “Bubbly”….we waited for her to elaborate……..nope…ok. How about for me…I like bold reds with some spice….she pointed to “On the Lighter Side”….It totally did not match what I described, but still it sounded interesting enough to go with. We also went with a flight of California Whites which actually did kind of fit what Andra was looking for. The server had very few words to say about that either….ok. So we at least had our order… a flight of red and a flight of white. They were ok, but just not all that great and one of the whites was just odd tasting. It had a pine taste to it….and it may have been what it was supposed to be, but we made it clear that we did not like that one. At that point, you might expect….would you like to try something else? But really, it was no use as we were looking for actual advice and it just didn’t seem to be forthcoming.

To make a story that’s getting kind of long, shorter; The service was not good. We asked to see a manager and he sent over his best server/sommelier. From that point forward, we got great advice, service and attention. So they made it right, but we certainly had to speak up for ourselves and ask to have it made right. In the end, it looks as if the place is well managed, but not all there staff is up to par apparently. We had a great time in spite of it, but it was, honestly, a little bit surprising to get so little direction and such poor service when ordering wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eno Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.