We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian with a Strong Hint of Moroccan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunky's Cafe

Bunky's Cafe
2425 Atwood avenue, Madison, WI 53704-5722
+1 608-204-7004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 821 restaurants in Madison
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bunky's Was started in the early 1930's by Teresa's great Grandparents. Vito & Ninfa Capadona opened Bunky's on the corner of Park & Regent street in the Italian "Green Bush" area. After closing in the mid 1970's. Teresa and her husband Rachid opened in 2003. They included Rachid's Mediterranean - Moroccan cuisine to the menu! Bunky's cafe just celebrated its tenth Birthday this year! As the owners of Bunky's cafe, we feel very blessed to have a successful restaurant in Madison Wi. We will keep offering fresh, local and sustainable made from scratch menus! We have just started offering our Homemade Hummus, Baba Ghanouj, Grape leaves and Falalfel at area grocery stores. Please come and join us for dinner!
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian with a Strong Hint of Moroccan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We dined at Bunky's Cafe a few years ago and were delighted in the quirky menu of traditional Italian as well as some entrees that were more Moroccan. We found that the restaurant moved up the street a few blocks into a warmer, more intimate place that was lively with families and groups, as well as couples. The waitstaff was attentive and served up pastas, yummy pizzas and even 'spagetti on the board' for groups ready to dig in to an Italian family tradition. But punctuating the Italian side with a more worldly side are delightful North African favorites like Chicken Schwarma, eggplant dishes prepared Moroccan style and a whole host of appetizers.
Be sure to start out with Bunky's only soup- creamy lentil. The owners (the husband is a native Moroccan and the wife is from a long line of local Italian restauranteurs) team up to treat patrons to a great fun and intimate dining experience. Be sure to check out the generous dessert menu, as well as great drinks, a gluten-free menu, and a very nice luncheon menu. When we're in the neighborhood, we are going to make plans to stop in again--and again!.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    71
    18
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dane, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, mediterranean atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great little spot in Madison, WI. They have gluten-free choices, mediterranean choices, pasta, etc. Appetizers are, well - YUM! Love their pasta, too. I've eaten there five times and have been happy everytime. Only drawback is that it can be a bit warm in there in the summer...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Old Madison name that was originally in a primarily Italian neighborhood. Wonderful Italian and Mediterranean selections in a fun informal setting. Good idea to call ahead for a reservation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funky Bunky's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were ten of us celebrating my friend's birthday here and everyone loved the Italian and Middle Eastern entrées. The only glitch was an order of lamb kebobs that were supposed to be medium-rare and came well-done. So two friends shared another order until the kitchen sent a replacement. My traditional meat lasagna was perfectly seasoned and smothered in fresh tomato sauce. Delicious. I was too full for dessert, but tried a bite of both the cannoli and chocolate layer cake that friends ordered...quite simply to die for! The decor is eye-catching and the bathroom looks like it could serve as an antique gift shop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Uniquely Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Friends who like Italian and Middle Eastern food took me here, as the menu has both. It was originally an Italian restaurant and feels like an old and welcoming house, but someone in kitchen knows their way around a tandoor oven now if the braised lamb shank is any indication. It's a great mash-up, especially with a chatty waiter and some of the most excellent home-made tasting desserts I've had outside of my kitchen.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bunky's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunky's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.