We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, mediterranean atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunky's Cafe

Bunky's Cafe
2425 Atwood avenue, Madison, WI 53704-5722
+1 608-204-7004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 772 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bunky's Was started in the early 1930's by Teresa's great Grandparents. Vito & Ninfa Capadona opened Bunky's on the corner of Park & Regent street in the Italian "Green Bush" area. After closing in the mid 1970's. Teresa and her husband Rachid opened in 2003. They included Rachid's Mediterranean - Moroccan cuisine to the menu! Bunky's cafe just celebrated its tenth Birthday this year! As the owners of Bunky's cafe, we feel very blessed to have a successful restaurant in Madison Wi. We will keep offering fresh, local and sustainable made from scratch menus! We have just started offering our Homemade Hummus, Baba Ghanouj, Grape leaves and Falalfel at area grocery stores. Please come and join us for dinner!
Dane, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, mediterranean atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great little spot in Madison, WI. They have gluten-free choices, mediterranean choices, pasta, etc. Appetizers are, well - YUM! Love their pasta, too. I've eaten there five times and have been happy everytime. Only drawback is that it can be a bit warm in there in the summer...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    27
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Old Madison name that was originally in a primarily Italian neighborhood. Wonderful Italian and Mediterranean selections in a fun informal setting. Good idea to call ahead for a reservation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Funky Bunky's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were ten of us celebrating my friend's birthday here and everyone loved the Italian and Middle Eastern entrées. The only glitch was an order of lamb kebobs that were supposed to be medium-rare and came well-done. So two friends shared another order until the kitchen sent a replacement. My traditional meat lasagna was perfectly seasoned and smothered in fresh tomato sauce. Delicious. I was too full for dessert, but tried a bite of both the cannoli and chocolate layer cake that friends ordered...quite simply to die for! The decor is eye-catching and the bathroom looks like it could serve as an antique gift shop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Uniquely Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Friends who like Italian and Middle Eastern food took me here, as the menu has both. It was originally an Italian restaurant and feels like an old and welcoming house, but someone in kitchen knows their way around a tandoor oven now if the braised lamb shank is any indication. It's a great mash-up, especially with a chatty waiter and some of the most excellent home-made tasting desserts I've had outside of my kitchen.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Been going here for years, had always enjoyed the good and fresh med food and the very fine service, presided over by the gracious and friendly co-owner Theresa. But haven't seen here last couple of times, and my last experience there was quite bad, due to the surly and customer unfriendly manager (didn't catch his name, I don't think he even introduced himself). Problem: my dining companion ordered steamed mussels, which came cold (they'd obviously been standing around for a while, an unforgivable sin). When he complained, the waitress promised a fresh and hot portion, but instead disappeared forever, and the manger showed up. Instead of apologizing he claimed they were hot (how would he know?) and that my friend was just trying to get an extra portion for free. As if we couldn't pay for one! Since the friend is an honest person to a fault, he was understandably offended by this slur. And instead of the promised mussels, we got a consolation prize of two tiny refrigerated tiramisu doodads. What a pity that success seems to have spoiled a good restaurant, and they are no longer concerned about customer satisfaction and word of mouth. In addition, they have filled the dining room to capacity, and it is quite noisy--the food remains good, but more highly priced than comparable fare at other Madison restaurants. Theresa, please come back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunky's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bunky's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunky's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.